skidoo
Joined: 09 Feb 2012
#76
live-session, semi-automatic root persistence. Boot pendrive has not been removed throughout the session.

run dmesg -w and note the output when persist-save is performed.

Code: Select all

[7263993.722549] FAT-fs (sda1): utf8 is not a recommended IO charset for FAT filesystems, filesystem will be case sensitive!
[7263993.727143] FAT-fs (sda1): Volume was not properly unmounted. Some data may be corrupt. Please run fsck.
[7263994.110350] EXT4-fs (loop1): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
FWIW, with a commandline persist-save && persist-save I observe repeated, back-to-back, occurrences of such dmesg lines.

In case it's relevant, I'll mention that the boot media was created via live-usb-maker.
Also, automount is disabled.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#77
set time in control center doesn't seem to actually set the time on an installed system. the liveMedia custom entries work OK as far as I can tell, but both the installer timezone setting and the Set Time control center app seem to fail.

With the set time utility, the timezone in /etc/timezone does change, and the symlink for /etc/localtime does change, but the time itself doens't change, and the timezone reported by"date" remains whatever was set by the live system.


***edit*** I think we can provide some code later to make the timezone selection work.
Last edited by dolphin_oracle on 03 Sep 2017, 16:57, edited 1 time in total.
Posts: 70
greyowl
Joined: 04 Jul 2017
#78
I tried it live and also installed the lite Xfce desktop which works fine.
However, after install of Xfce, the Control Center was no longer in the Menu.
Posts: 32
bedna
Joined: 30 May 2015
#79
Default video settings is bad. (installation and installed system)

Resolution is 2 x real horizontal resolution (3200 x 1200)

Code: Select all

xrandr 
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 3200 x 1200, maximum 8192 x 8192
DVI-D-1 connected primary 1600x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 400mm x 300mm
   1600x1200     60.00*+
   1280x1024     85.02    75.02    70.00    60.02  
   1024x768      85.00    75.03    70.07    60.00  
   800x600       85.06    72.19    75.00    60.32    56.25  
   640x480       85.01    75.00    72.81    66.03    59.94  
   720x400       70.08  
DVI-D-2 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
Posts: 1,308
BitJam
Joined: 31 Aug 2009
#80
skidoo wrote:live-session, semi-automatic root persistence. Boot pendrive has not been removed throughout the session.

Code: Select all

[7263993.727143] FAT-fs (sda1): Volume was not properly unmounted. Some data may be corrupt. Please run fsck.
[7263994.110350] EXT4-fs (loop1): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
It is strange that there is a FAT-fs warning for sda1 if it is the live-usb. Is it the live-usb? If you are using a stock live-usb-maker live-usb then both the main live-usb partition and the rootfs file and maybe the homefs file should be checked periodically at boot time. You can force this check with the"checkfs" cheat. As you know, our standard live-usb uses ext4 for the first (main) partition and fat32 for the 2nd (uefi) partition.

If sda1 is not the live-usb then maybe that warning gets triggered when persist-save runs but is not directly related.

I think we use e2fsck to check the file systems. For the main partition we use the -n option. For rootfs and homefs I think we use the -p option because we can check those before we mount them.
Posts: 521
Shay
Joined: 20 Apr 2015
#81
Still have the save screenshot problem.

Code: Select all

inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: antix1 Kernel: 4.10.5-antix.3-amd64-smp x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
           Desktop: IceWM 1.4.2
           Distro: antiX-17.b3_x64-base Heather Heyer 18 August 2017
Machine:   Device: laptop System: Dell product: Latitude E6430 v: 01
           Mobo: Dell model: 0H3MT5 v: A00 BIOS: Dell v: A17 date: 08/19/2015
Battery    BAT0: charge: 57.5 Wh 88.1% condition: 65.3/90.0 Wh (73%)
           model: LGC-LGC3.0 DELL J7KGM29 status: Discharging
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5-3320M (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 10369
           clock speeds: max: 3300 MHz 1: 1200 MHz 2: 1200 MHz 3: 1200 MHz 4: 1199 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Card-2: NVIDIA GF108GLM [NVS 5200M] bus-ID: 01:00.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.2 drivers: modesetting,nouveau (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1600x900@59.99hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Ivybridge Mobile
           GLX Version: 3.3 Mesa 13.0.6 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 7 Series/C216 Family High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.5-antix.3-amd64-smp
Network:   Card-1: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection
           driver: e1000e v: 3.2.6-k port: f060 bus-ID: 00:19.0
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Intel Centrino Ultimate-N 6300 driver: iwlwifi bus-ID: 03:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 128.1GB (3.5% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: SanDisk_SDSSDA12 size: 120.0GB
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdb model: JumpDrive size: 8.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 6.2G used: 25M (1%) fs: overlay dev: N/A
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.69GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda2
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 56.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 51.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 180 Uptime: 9 min Memory: 538.0/7956.2MB
           Init: SysVinit runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 6.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.121) inxi: 2.3.21 
Just got home where I could test it.
Posts: 521
Shay
Joined: 20 Apr 2015
#82

Code: Select all

 inxi -Fxz
System:    Host: antix1 Kernel: 4.10.5-antix.3-amd64-smp x86_64 (64 bit gcc: 6.3.0)
           Desktop: IceWM 1.4.2
           Distro: antiX-17.b3_x64-base Heather Heyer 18 August 2017
Machine:   Device: portable System: Dell product: Latitude D630
           Mobo: Dell model: 0KU184 BIOS: Dell v: A15 date: 11/24/2008
Battery    BAT0: charge: 44.0 Wh 2953.0% condition: 1.5/44.0 Wh (3%)
           model: Sanyo DELL 62 status: Full
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core2 Duo T7250 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB
           flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 ssse3 vmx) bmips: 7980
           clock speeds: max: 2001 MHz 1: 1200 MHz 2: 800 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (primary)
           bus-ID: 00:02.0
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.2 driver: intel Resolution: 1280x800@60.02hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 965GM GLX Version: 2.1 Direct Rendering: Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel bus-ID: 00:1b.0
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.10.5-antix.3-amd64-smp
Network:   Card-1: Broadcom Limited NetXtreme BCM5755M Gigabit Ethernet PCI Express
           driver: tg3 v: 3.137 bus-ID: 09:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Broadcom Limited BCM4321 802.11a/b/g/n
           driver: b43-pci-bridge bus-ID: 0c:00.0
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 128.1GB (5.5% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MK1234GS size: 120.0GB
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdb model: JumpDrive size: 8.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 3.1G used: 1.3M (1%) fs: overlay dev: N/A
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 7.34GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda2
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 45.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 145 Uptime: 3 min Memory: 129.2/3944.9MB
           Init: SysVinit runlevel: 5 Gcc sys: 6.3.0
           Client: Shell (bash 4.4.121) inxi: 2.3.21 
Posts: 99
spaceman
Joined: 07 Feb 2013
#83
I love the name Anti...

A little late to the party as usual. 😜

antiX-17-b3-core-libre some issues: Stable repos.
  • unetbootin USB boot media wouldn't load at all.
  • Boot hung on Loading Kernel with CD boot media.
  • USB boot media (multisystem) took me to cli where I could log in and launch cli-installer correctly.
antiX-17-b3-Core installed, created a new user, updated GRUB and rebooted.
  • bash not loaded by defaults
  • loading bash manual revealed that bash_completion is installed on configured on antiX, which is more than can be said for Stretch.
  • install xorg, Debian nvidia-driver, xfce4, lightdm
My go to solution for Wine(+Warcraft) has always been smxi and the latest nvidia propietary drivers. The lastest driver would not install properly and consequently xfce4 borked with dbus and xfconfd errors. The ...d filled me with dread,"Surely xfce4 isn't dependent upon systemd now?!" Of course it isn't space cadet. I hadn't realised that the Debian drivers had come so far either...potentially I might get some better performance from the proprietary driver (if I could hammer it in), but the Debian driver is so easy to deploy and more than up to the task (of delivering my meagre graphical requirements) I don't baulk at using the driver from the repos. I like easy. Next step testing and then I will see how many installs I can break with nvidia's latest distro nobbler.
System:   Host:moonbase Kernel:4.10.5-gnu-antix.3-amd64-smp x86_64
          bits:64 gcc:6.3.0
          Console:tty 1
          Distro:antiX-17.b3_x64-core-libre Heather Heyer 18 August 2017
Machine:  Device:desktop Mobo:ASUSTeK model:SABERTOOTH 990FX v:Rev 1.xx serial:N/A
          BIOS:American Megatrends v:1604 date:10/16/2012
CPU:      Octa coreAMD FX-8350 Eight-Core (-MCP-)
          arch:Bulldozer rev.0 cache:16384 KB
          flags:(lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 sse4a ssse3 svm) bmips:64239
          clock speeds:max:4013 MHz 1:4013 MHz 2:4013 MHz 3:4013 MHz
          4:4013 MHz 5:4013 MHz 6:4013 MHz 7:4013 MHz 8:4013 MHz
Graphics: Card-1:NVIDIA GM107 [GeForce GTX 750 Ti] bus-ID:01:00.0
          Card-2:NVIDIA GP107 [GeForce GTX 1050 Ti] bus-ID:06:00.0
          Display Server:X.org 1.19.2 driver:nvidia
          tty size:80x25 Advanced Data:N/A out of X
Audio:    Card-1NVIDIA Device 0fb9 driver:snd_hda_intel bus-ID:06:00.1
          Card-2NVIDIA Device 0fbc driver:snd_hda_intel bus-ID:01:00.1
          Card-3Advanced Micro Devices [AMD/ATI] SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
          driver:snd_hda_intel bus-ID:00:14.2
          Card-4JMTek LLC. driver:USB Audio usb-ID:005-002
          Sound:ALSA v:k4.10.5-gnu-antix.3-amd64-smp
Network:  Card:Realtek RTL8111/8168/8411 PCIE Gigabit Ethernet Controller
          driver:r8169 v:2.3LK-NAPI port:9000 bus-ID:09:00.0
          IF:eth0 state:up speed:100 Mbps duplex:full mac:<filter>
Drives:   HDD Total Size:2564.5GB (0.7% used)
          ID-1:/dev/sda model:SAMSUNG_SP2504C size:250.1GB
          ID-2:/dev/sdb model:SAMSUNG_SP2504C size:250.1GB
          ID-3:/dev/sdc model:TOSHIBA_DT01ACA2 size:2000.4GB
          ID-4:USB /dev/sdd model:Cruzer size:64.0GB
Partition:ID-1:/ size:37G used:2.1G (6%) fs:ext4 dev:/dev/sda11
          ID-2:swap-1 size:17.18GB used:0.00GB (0%)
          fs:swap dev:/dev/sda2
Info:     Processes:234 Uptime:1 min Memory:183.1/16062.0MB
          Init:SysVinit runlevel:5 Gcc sys:6.3.0
          Client:Shell (bash 4.4.121) inxi:2.3.39
Last edited by spaceman on 18 Sep 2017, 12:52, edited 2 times in total.
Posts: 307
eugen-b
Joined: 23 Aug 2015
#84
I tried -pre-rc1 ISO, it boots ok on an AMD 64bit system and on the 32bit Intel netbook.
I forced myself to try persistence features with a 368 ISO for my netbook, live USB creation worked fine, encryption worked (but you need to reboot to be able to decrypt the partion with a newly created password), persits_all worked, but somehow vga=791 leads to the VGA confirmation screen (can be passed by pressing Space key) and my wallpaper choice wasn't made persistent. What was saved persistently was my choice of rxvt as default terminal. But my .extend.Xresources isn't applied at startup - I probably need to add xrdb merge .Xresources to autostart.
On second start X crashed at start, the mouse became unresponsive. On third boot it didn't happen.
Also I would like to change console font to a smaller size - it is too big for a 10" netbook screen. Is there an easy way to do it (without reading Linux manuals)? Maybe smaller would be a better default?
The persitent dialog window is too large for my screen, too. There is little info there which needs so much space. If you find time make it smaller, please. :)
Posts: 1,308
BitJam
Joined: 31 Aug 2009
#85
eugen-b wrote: live USB creation worked fine, encryption worked (but you need to reboot to be able to decrypt the partion with a newly created password)
Thanks for trying, I'm glad it worked.   I don't understand what you mean about needing to reboot to decrypt.
somehow vga=791 leads to the VGA confirmation screen (can be passed by pressing Space key)
When you get to the VGA screen, is a mode like"305 1280x1024x8" available?
Also I would like to change console font to a smaller size - it is too big for a 10" netbook screen. Is there an easy way to do it
The Linux manuals probably wouldn't help here.  There are two ways to make this change.  We select the font size based on how many characters it takes to fill with width of the screen.  You can adjust this in the bootloader via the F4 options menu.  The default conwidth is 120 (characters).  To make the font smaller, increase the"conwidth=xxx".  You can also run the select-console-width program to select it interactively.  This is also available in the command line control centre, antiX-cli-cc.  This command should have been added to your Bash history so you should be able to get to it with <up-arrow>.   The antiX-cli-cc program should also be listed at the top of the screen in a fresh virtual console (before it scrolls off the top of the screen).  In general, the DIY answer to many"how do I do xyz in the console" is to launch the command line control centre.

Unfortunately, your selection via select-console-width will not be saved across reboots on the live system. For the live system you need to either select an conwidth= from the F4 Options menu or type in"conwidth=xxx" manually and then use the F8 Save feature.
The persitent dialog window is too large for my screen, too. There is little info there which needs so much space. If you find time make it smaller, please. :)
It would be helpful if you were more specific about the window you want changed.  A screen shot would be even better.
Posts: 307
eugen-b
Joined: 23 Aug 2015
#86
@BitJam, I selected encryption in antix-live-usb maker and when booting with the live USB I was asked to set a password; I did it, then I was asked for the password to open the encrypted volume, I ented it, but it didn't work; after a reboot it worked then.

Indeed, I cannot select 1024x768 in the VGA/VESA"menu", the highest is 800x600, I will save it in the live boot screen.

conwidth=160 option works for the early live boot process but right after ceni is done with connecting it jumps to larger font size. Switching to TTY2 gives me a large font size then. It might work on an installed system, but it seems unlikely considering whyt I got now. I also don't find the option in antiX-cli-cc, you must have removed this option.

It is the second screen"antiX Save Persistent Root", a screenshot follows in a moment...
Posts: 1,445
skidoo
Joined: 09 Feb 2012
#87
conwidth=160 option works for the early live boot process but right after ceni is done with connecting it jumps to larger font size. Switching to TTY2 gives me a large font size then. It might work on an installed system, but it seems unlikely considering whyt I got now. I also don't find the option in antiX-cli-cc, you must have removed this option.
It is still accessible via antiX-cli-cc.
And, last I checked, its use still resulted in:
switch to console Ctrl_Alt+F5 and find uncomfortably large font.
Wonder: maybe font change doesn't occur until after console login? Nope, still same uncomfortably large font.
Wonder: maybe the change takes effect following reboot? Nope, still same uncomfortably large font.

so
short of embedding a call to console-font-select within .bash_profile (or whatever)
I was faced with the prospect of needing to manually invoke console-font-select each time I entered a console session.

as previously discussed here:
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"(viewtopi c.p hp)?f=15&t=7049&p=52029&hilit=console#p52029"
linktext was:"(viewtopi c.p hp)?f=15&t=7049&p=52029&hilit=console#p52029"
====================================

I"solved" by hacking the content of /etc/default/console-setup

Code: Select all

sudo chmod -w /etc/default/console-setup
sudo nano /etc/default/console-setup (and refer to my linked forum post regarding details to edit)
sudo chmod -w /etc/default/console-setup
more recently, I discovered upon revisiting
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"https://manpages.debian.org/jessie/console-setup/setupcon.1.en.html"
linktext was:"https://manpages.debian.org/jessie/cons ... .1.en.html"
====================================

and
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"https://manpages.debian.org/jessie/console-setup/console-setup.5.en.html"
linktext was:"https://manpages.debian.org/jessie/cons ... .5.en.html"
====================================

apparently an identical"solve" would be to copycreate /etc/default/console-setup ~/.console-setup
(Does that similarly require a chmod dance? Dunno, i haven't checked.)
Posts: 1,308
BitJam
Joined: 31 Aug 2009
#88
eugen-b wrote: @BitJam, I selected encryption in antix-live-usb maker and when booting with the live USB I was asked to set a password; I did it, then I was asked for the password to open the encrypted volume, I ented it, but it didn't work; after a reboot it worked then.
Ah.  I understand what you are saying now.  I will test this again.  It had been working reliably.  Is it possible you entered the new password incorrectly?
Indeed, I cannot select 1024x768 in the VGA/VESA"menu", the highest is 800x600, I will save it in the live boot screen.
That's interesting.  We had changed the default from 800x600 to 1024x768 in order to make the automatic selection of console font size work better OOTB.  What machine was this?
conwidth=160 option works for the early live boot process but right after ceni is done with connecting it jumps to larger font size. Switching to TTY2 gives me a large font size then. It might work on an installed system, but it seems unlikely considering whyt I got now.
I'm not sure what ceni has to do with the boot process.  I thought it only ran manually.   I suspect what is happening is that the console screen resolution is decreasing and perhaps the framebuffer is being disabled.   You could try the"nomodeset" cheat and see if that lets the working font size survive the boot process.   Please post the content of the file /etc/live/config/font.   This might explain what is going on.   Each row contains: time, conwidth, width in pixels, calling program, selected font.   Similar information is in the top few lines of the file /var/log/live/initrd.log for when the font is set very early in the boot process.
I also don't find the option in antiX-cli-cc, you must have removed this option.
It is under the"Console Utilities" sub-menu.  That menu only shows up if you run antiX-cli-cc in a console (not a terminal window).  That's because some commands, such as console-width-select only work when you are in a console.   I original had them working in a"pretend" mode when you were not in a console but this confused people and caused complaints.
It is the second screen"antiX Save Persistent Root", a screenshot follows in a moment...
Thanks!
Posts: 1,308
BitJam
Joined: 31 Aug 2009
#89
PS: if you can take a picture with a camera/phone, I'd like to see that VESA menu that shows up early in the boot process.   I'm thinking about a way to save your selection from that menu.
Posts: 1,445
skidoo
Joined: 09 Feb 2012
#90
conwidth=160 option works for the early live boot process but right after ceni is done with connecting it jumps to larger font size. Switching to TTY2 gives me a large font size then. It might work on an installed system, but it seems unlikely considering whyt I got now.
I'm not sure what ceni has to do with the boot process.
it's a point of reference, an attempt to convey"at which point during boot" the font size change occurs.
In the earlier topic, I provided a similar"happens right after suchandsuch line is output onscreen" description & IIRC, BitJam recognized"that is where KMS kicks in".

Considering that users with HiDPI displays will benefit from the larger boot text, and given the availability of cheatcodes, I have no qualms regarding the"during boot" fonts. Separately, I've posted elsewhere to mention that console-font-select may not be working as expected / intended.