Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#31
anticapitalista wrote:This is the etc/network/interfaces I'm thinking of using on next test iso. Would it work better?

Code: Select all

# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth1
iface eth1 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth2
iface eth2 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth3
iface eth3 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth4
iface eth4 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth5
iface eth5 inet dhcp
I've been playing with something similar....

We need to get sam to try it.
Posts: 1,028
SamK
Joined: 21 Aug 2011
#32
dolphin_oracle wrote:Out of curiosity, does eth0 show up in wicd preferences as a wireless card? and does eth1 show as wired?
Attached is a screen shot of WICD as it appears on a first run i.e. I have changed nothing.
Unmodified WICD Preferences
Unmodified WICD Preferences


Edit
Wired networking does not work OOTB it needs to be configured by either WICD or Ceni, then works as expected.
Posts: 1,028
SamK
Joined: 21 Aug 2011
#33
anticapitalista wrote:This is the etc/network/interfaces I'm thinking of using on next test iso. Would it work better?

Code: Select all

# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth1
iface eth1 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth2
iface eth2 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth3
iface eth3 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth4
iface eth4 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth5
iface eth5 inet dhcp
I'm not sure that it will. The entries for eth0 and eth1 already appear in the shipped file I have here

Code: Select all

cat / etc/network/interfaces
# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)

allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth1
iface eth1 inet dhcp
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#34
samK, I think that the eth1 entry was added by ceni. its not shipping that way.

a lot of people don't realize it, but ceni is an editor for the etc/network/interfaces file. Its one reason that network profiles set up in ceni come up so fast. you don't have to wait for the wicd daemon to load.
Posts: 1,028
SamK
Joined: 21 Aug 2011
#35
dolphin_oracle wrote:samK, I think that the eth1 entry was added by ceni. its not shipping that way.
Yes you are probably correct. I did use Ceni to be able to make these posts. I'll reboot and get a screen shot before configuring the network..
Posts: 1,028
SamK
Joined: 21 Aug 2011
#36
dolphin_oracle wrote:its not shipping that way.

a lot of people don't realize it, but ceni is an editor for the etc/network/interfaces file.
Test environment
Live USB
No persistence

The attached screen shot was taken after booting to the default environment of the live installer i.e. before I set up the network. It is exactly the same as the previous one. On the system here this is the way the installer sets it up.

Also this is the equivalent unmodified / etc/network/interfaces

Code: Select all

# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)

allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth1
iface eth1 inet dhcp

Does running live store this without user intervention?
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#37
sam, the savestate system is preserving your network interface information. boot again, type in"nosavestate" into the boot options.
Posts: 1,028
SamK
Joined: 21 Aug 2011
#38
dolphin_oracle wrote:sam, the savestate system is preserving your network interface information. boot again, type in"nosavestate" into the boot options.
Test environment
Live USB
No persistence
Boot command

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
nosavestate desktop=space-icewm vga=791 lang=en_GB quiet splash=off disable=lx
The WICD is identical to the previous two posts i.e. eth0 is shown.

This is different

Code: Select all

cat etc/network/interfaces
# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)

allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#39
SamK wrote:
dolphin_oracle wrote:sam, the savestate system is preserving your network interface information. boot again, type in"nosavestate" into the boot options.
Test environment
Live USB
No persistence
Boot command

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
nosavestate desktop=space-icewm vga=791 lang=en_GB quiet splash=off disable=lx
The WICD is identical to the previous two posts i.e. eth0 is shown.

This is different

Code: Select all

cat etc/network/interfaces
# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)

allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
Ok. We can at least fix the wired stuff with the extra entries in etc/network/interfaces

WiCD is an upstream issue I think. I'm actually surprised it finds your wireless on eth0. However, it should pick up that a wired connection is in use once the etc/network/interfaces changes are made, even it if doesn't manage that connection itself. wicd is somewhat smarter than network-manager that way.
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#40
SamK - could you add

Code: Select all

allow-hotplug eth1
iface eth1 inet dhcp
to etc/network/interfaces - (don't do anything with wicd or conky) reboot with usual defaults you use.

Does it now autoconnect?
Posts: 1,028
SamK
Joined: 21 Aug 2011
#41
anticapitalista wrote:SamK - could you add

Code: Select all

allow-hotplug eth1
iface eth1 inet dhcp
to etc/network/interfaces - (don't do anything with wicd or conky) reboot with usual defaults you use.

Does it now autoconnect?
Won't that get discarded at reboot. This is a no persistence set up. Do you want to test with or without persistence?
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#42
There is a save-state (sort of persistence) that will save network settings (as well as a few other things). Just don't disable it on reboot with the nosavestate cheat
Posts: 521
Shay
Joined: 20 Apr 2015
#43
anticapitalista wrote:Unetbootin is the problem since it appears that it is not deleting/overwriting all of the files/folders on the usb stick.
.
USB 3.0 sticks up to 8 GB in size work fine.

But larger ones, is where I run into trouble.
Gpart format using NTFS, remove patition, and then format to ext4 seems to help.

Dban seems to be the only program to wipe them clear.
Posts: 1,028
SamK
Joined: 21 Aug 2011
#44
anticapitalista wrote:SamK - could you add

Code: Select all

allow-hotplug eth1
iface eth1 inet dhcp
to etc/network/interfaces - (don't do anything with wicd or conky) reboot with usual defaults you use.

Does it now autoconnect?

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cmdline
desktop=space-icewm vga=791 lang=en_GB quiet splash=off disable=lx

Code: Select all

cat /live/boot-dev/antiX/state/general/files/ etc/network/interfaces
# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)

allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth1
iface eth1 inet dhcp

Code: Select all

cat / etc/network/interfaces
# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)

allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

allow-hotplug eth1
iface eth1 inet dhcp

Code: Select all

inxi -n -c0
Network:   Card-1: Broadcom BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX driver: b44
           IF: eth1 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full mac: 00:14:22:89:f8:ce
           Card-2: Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG [Calexico2] Network Connection driver: ipw2200
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: 00:13:ce:b9:90:bb
As requested info is from a fresh boot with nothing done to conky, wicd, ceni. Conky does not show monitors for eth1 as it is not included in the current conkyrc
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#45
We can fix conky, but you auto connect now, yes?