Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#31
I should clarify a bit on what terminal is saying. When I installed grub . I installed it to root instead of MBR. That is because I wanted to use My AntiX 8.2 Grub Install to control booting. AntiX 8.2 controls all my booting on this laptop.

Code: Select all

harry@biker:~$ inxi -F
System:    Host biker Kernel 2.6.32-1-mepis-smp i686 (32 bit) Distro antiX-M8.5-beta2 Marek Edelman 07 December 2009
CPU:       Single core Mobile Intel Pentium III - M (UP) cache 512 KB flags (sse) bmips 2398.74 clocked at 1197.00 MHz 
Graphics:  Card S3 SuperSavage IX/C SDR X.Org 1.6.5 Res: 1024x768@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer Mesa DRI SuperSavage 20061110 AGP 1x x86/MMX/SSE GLX Version 1.2 Mesa 7.6 Direct Rendering Yes
Audio:     Card Intel 82801CA/CAM AC'97 Audio Controller driver Intel ICH at ports 1c00 18c0 
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Version 1.0.21
Network:   Card-1 Intel 82801CAM (ICH3) PRO/100 VE (LOM) Ethernet Controller driver e100 v: 3.5.24-k2-NAPI at port 6400 
           Card-2 RaLink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI driver rt61pci v: 2.3.0
Disks:     HDD Total Size: 80.0GB (2.0% used) 1: /dev/hda ST980815A 80.0GB 
Partition: ID:/ size: 9.9G used: 1.5G (16%) fs: ext3 ID:swap-1 size: 1.04GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap 
Info:      Processes 84 Uptime 18 min Memory 112.8/1008.3MB Client Shell inxi 1

Code: Select all

biker:/home/harry# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/hda: 80.0 GB, 80026361856 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 9729 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xfa4827d6

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/hda1               1        1985    15944481    7  HPFS/NTFS
/dev/hda2            1986        7686    45793282+   5  Extended
/dev/hda3            9603        9729     1020127+  82  Linux swap / Solaris
Partition 3 does not end on cylinder boundary.
/dev/hda4   *        7687        9602    15390270   83  Linux
/dev/hda5            6309        7686    11068785   83  Linux
/dev/hda6            5673        6308     5108607   83  Linux
/dev/hda7            1986        3290    10482349+  83  Linux

Partition table entries are not in disk order
biker:/home/harry# 

Code: Select all

timeout 15
color cyan/blue white/blue
foreground ffffff
background 0639a1

gfxmenu /boot/grub/message

title Biker Antix 8.2 at hda6, kernel 2.6.27-1-mepis-smp
root (hd0,5)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.27-1-mepis-smp root=/dev/hda6 nomce quiet nosplash vga=791 
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.27-1-mepis-smp
boot

title Popeye Puppy Linux 431 full install
root (hd0,3)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda4 pmedia=atahd nosmp
title Microsoft Windows 2000 Professional at hda1
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader +1

title antiX at hda7, kernel 2.6.32-1-mepis-smp
root (hd0,6)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp root=/dev/hda7 nomce quiet nosplash vga=791 
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp
boot
title        antiX-M8.5, kernel 2.6.32-1-mepis-smp
root        (hd0,6)
kernel        /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp root=UUID=84d33311-82ef-43bb-b646-b1a74ccf1153 ro 
initrd        /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp

title        antiX-M8.5, kernel 2.6.32-1-mepis-smp (init-3)
root        (hd0,6)
kernel        /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp root=UUID=84d33311-82ef-43bb-b646-b1a74ccf1153 ro 3
initrd        /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp

title        antiX-M8.5, kernel memtest86+
root        (hd0,6)
kernel        /boot/memtest86+.bin
title MEMTEST
kernel /boot/memtest86+.bin

I booted using the very first entry for 8.5
title antiX at hda7, kernel 2.6.32-1-mepis-smp
root (hd0,6)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp root=/dev/hda7 nomce quiet nosplash vga=791
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp
boot
I haven't tested the other entries yet to see how they will act. I just know that that one works for now.
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#32
Tested All Menu entries in boot menu. Everry single entry booted up OK. The last
title antiX-M8.5, kernel 2.6.32-1-mepis-smp (init-3)
root (hd0,6)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp root=UUID=84d33311-82ef-43bb-b646-b1a74ccf1153 ro 3
initrd /boot/initrd.img-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp
has me login through tty3 and you have to use startx to bring up a crude Icewm Desktop. Works though. Never figured out how to shutdown from there. Had to use Ctrl+Alt+Del to reboot. My ignorance probably.

Now on to figure out wireless. Wife just got home. Done testing for today. Good Job Anti on that minstall-antiX bin. It did the trick.
Posts: 1,228
secipolla
Joined: 15 Jun 2008
#33
To reboot from init 3:
'sudo reboot' (or just 'reboot' if logged as root)

To shutdown from init 3;
'sudo halt' (or just 'halt' if logged as root)


'startx' doesn't work for me because 8.2 doesn't have xinit (I think) so in this case to jump to slim (or to the desktop if autologin is enabled) you can use the command 'init 5' (as root) or, also as root, '/etc/init.d/slim start'.
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#34
Howdy secipolla and Good morning. For some reason when I picked log out from the menu and it brought me back down to tty3. My keyboard would not input correctly. I tried reboot as root but could only type in re and nothing else. It was like my keyboard configuration had changed after i selected logout from the menu. Now to be fair. I was tired and might have induced the error myself.

I will try again later today after I wake up a bit and see if this happens again..

Edit: Am now awake. Reread your post again. You are one smart cookie dude. Instead of using startx which just brought me up the crude icewm desktop. I typed in init 5 as root instead which brought up slim login and after logging in a normal icewm Desktop. Just posting this for info for anybody reading this..
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#35
Had a problem shutting down. Would stop at System Halted and wouldn't power off.

I got it working by adding

Code: Select all

acpi=force
To the end of the kernel line in /boot/grub/menu.lst . Tested this in all grub entries. Worked OK.

Anti. I did a apt-get update and apt-get upgrade to see if it would improve my wireless situation. Did not touch repos in /etc/apt/sources.list.

I get a ton (flashes by in split secod like 2 to 3 pages) of /udev errors. It boots up fine though after that. Thought you might like to know is all. I aint sweating __{{emoticon}}__ it yet.
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#36
udev errors already fixed for next test release.

What wireless do you have? (I've forgotten) and did it work ok in 8.2?
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#37
What wireless do you have? (I've forgotten) and did it work ok in 8.2?
To keep it simple


========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://mepislovers.org/forums/showthread.php?t=24252"
linktext was:"http://mepislovers.org/forums/showthread.php?t=24252"
====================================
" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#38
They are in /lib/firmware.


========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.sidux.com/index.php?module=Wikula&tag=NetworkRaLink"
linktext was:"http://www.sidux.com/index.php?module=W ... workRaLink"
====================================
" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false

might help

(As the drivers are installed, start with the modprobe)
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#39
I looked through /lib/firmware Anti. Posted even what I added as far as adding rt2680.bin and rt3071.bin into 8.5 /libfirmware from 8.2s /lib/firmware because those weren't present in 8.5.

Then to make sure everything should be kosher

Code: Select all

harry@biker:~$ sux
Password: 
biker:/home/harry# apt-get install firmware-ralink
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
firmware-ralink is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 16 not upgraded.
biker:/home/harry# 


There is something going on with the kernel is this best guinea pigs best guess which is not turning on the card. Even though yenta sees a card and says it detects it. Weird I say. LOL. That was why I posted in Mepis forums. Hoped some smarter minds than mine will say something like

Code: Select all

#Just turn the damn card on 2.6.31
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#40
Did you try the modprobe part in that link?
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#41
apt-get install wl-modules-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp

(can't remember if it is there or not. It should be)
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#42
Yeah I tried modprobe rt61 and got no errors. Tried both commands one after the other, No errors.

{quote]apt-get install wl-modules-2.6.32-1-mepis-smp [/quote]

Will give it a shot. Been editing icewm toolbar with johns editor. Killed everything on toolbar trying to install screenshot with it. Used my file from 8.2 (glad as hell I got a backup there, forgot to backup before I used johns tool). Setting up Email in Iceape to. This new Desktop layout is kicking my butt,

Still wondering how come screenshot works in Fluxbox but nothing there for Icewm and when I try what I did in 8.2 to add a launcher in toolbar. I get nothing.
Posts: 1,228
secipolla
Joined: 15 Jun 2008
#43
roky, you must check if the command for the screenshot app in ~/.icewm/menu or ~/.icewm/keys matches the app name in /usr/local/bin

Maybe it's set as antixscreenshot.sh in the 'keys' file and the app is called antixscreenshot-en.sh (or something like that).
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#44
you must check if the command for the screenshot app in ~/.icewm/menu
I must be one of the lucky ones. I have no menu entry in Icewm. Only in Fluxbox and I ccan't use Fluxboxes menu entry. One because I can't find the durn thing. Two because if I did find it. It would probably not apply to Icewm.
Maybe it's set as antixscreenshot.sh in the 'keys' file and the app is called antixscreenshot-en.sh (or something like that).
Thanks, Nver thought to look in keys. Will see what happens when I look in there later.

Edit; Looked in keys. Haven't tried the key conbo yet. It is named antixscreenshot.sh. Tried just to put in menu
prog"Screenshot" screenshot.sh

But no joy with that. Terminal gives me this

Code: Select all

harry@biker:~$ find antixscreenshot.sh
find: `antixscreenshot.sh': No such file or directory
harry@biker:~$ sux
Password: 
biker:/home/harry# find antixscreenshot.sh
find: `antixscreenshot.sh': No such file or directory
biker:/home/harry# 
Edit: Using CTL+ALT+s doesn't bring up screenshot either for me also, so much for using hotkeys.
Posts: 516
oldhoghead
Site Admin
Joined: 01 Oct 2007
#45
rokytnji,

I'm not sure of the complete picture with your install, but for reference, I did quite a few test installs, and then finally did an install with the working minstall-antiX,
the first time I did this everything worked correctly, then I did some more test installs using a different minstall, when I concluded the testing, then I reinstalled using the minstall-antiX, but had no menu entries under Applications, tried several fixes to no avail, then I reinstalled again and now everything is working properly, the ralink drivers are listed in /lib/firmware, so my thinking is that maybe you need to reinstall and start fresh as the possibility exists that you may have a faulty install and will never be able to get wireless or other issues resolved in the current state.

cheers,
oldhoghead