Posts: 1,308
BitJam
Joined: 31 Aug 2009
#31
dolphin_oracle wrote:ended up it was the"nomodeset" cheat code that was needed. incidently, that cheat code did not save between the live session and the installation.
Thanks!

Does"noueveau.modeset=0" work instead of"nomodeset"? This would be useful for us to know.

We made two changes here. We changed"nomodeset" to"nouveau.modeset=0" because we thought the problem was mostly with the nouveau driver. Then we also moved this boot parameter to the menus and out of the main menu entry. It is a real shame that unetbootin does not use our menus.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#32
no, nouveau.modeset=0 did not help alone. I have them both set at the moment.

I went and got another antix box to remake the usbkey, so I could use the menus.
Posts: 1,308
BitJam
Joined: 31 Aug 2009
#33
dolphin_oracle wrote:no, nouveau.modeset=0 did not help alone. I have them both set at the moment.
Thanks. This is very helpful to know. What kind of graphics card do you have?
I went and got another antix box to remake the usbkey, so I could use the menus.
Good! You will get to play with our new toys.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#34
windows reports as Intel HD graphics. inxi -F reports it as Intel Integrated.

here's the inxi -F output

Code: Select all

System:    Host: antiX1 Kernel: 3.6.11-antix.1-486-smp i686 (32 bit) 
           Desktop: Fluxbox 1.3.2 Distro: antiX-13-beta2-pt1_386-full Ahmad Sami 24 March 2013
Machine:   System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP Pavilion dm4 Notebook PC version: 0587110002242B10000022100
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 146A version: 58.28 Bios: Hewlett-Packard version: F.26 date: 02/14/2011
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i5 CPU M 460 (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB flags: (lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1199.00 MHz 2: 1199.00 MHz 3: 1199.00 MHz 4: 1199.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller 
           X.Org: 1.12.4 drivers: vesa,intel (unloaded: fbdev) Resolution: 1368x768@0.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: N/A GLX Version: N/A
Audio:     Card: Intel 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel Sound: ALSA ver: 1.0.25
Network:   Card-1: Intel Centrino Advanced-N + WiMAX 6250 [Kilmer Peak] driver: iwlwifi 
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 00:23:15:7b:a8:14
           Card-2: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller driver: r8169 
           IF: eth0 state: down mac: 64:31:50:6d:81:b4
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 320.1GB (1.2% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD3200BPVT size: 320.1GB 
Partition: ID: / size: 18G used: 3.7G (23%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 43.0C mobo: 42.0C 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Info:      Processes: 120 Uptime: 3 min Memory: 215.0/2459.1MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 1.8.34 
Posts: 1,308
BitJam
Joined: 31 Aug 2009
#35
dolphin_oracle wrote:no, nouveau.modeset=0 did not help alone. I have them both set at the moment.
dolphin_oracle, you've been a great help. I want to ask you to verify one more thing. Does just using"nomodeset" without using"nouveau.modeset=0" work for you? I think it does but I just wanted to make sure before committing it to code.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#36
been playing around with the printer utility. At least for my brother networked printer, I had to had my user to group lpadmin in order to be able to configure the printer either with the cups localhost interface for the printer utility front end. It might be convienent to default to the user being added to this group.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#37
BitJam,

You are correct. I only need"nomodeset" for the boot to complete.
Posts: 1,308
BitJam
Joined: 31 Aug 2009
#38
Thanks! That is what I wanted to hear.
Posts: 1,308
BitJam
Joined: 31 Aug 2009
#39
dolphin_oracle, you may want to try"video=1368x768" instead of"nomodeset". Perhaps you've tried this already. The Gentoo wiki page suggests doing this if you have a blank screen.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#40
Thanks BitJam. I did try this. The screen doesn't start blank. What happens is that all is well, text is scrolling by at bootup, and when the monitor flicks for the resolution change, I lose the picture. I think in my case the backlight also went out, but I'm working from memory on that one. It doesn't come back when x starts either.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#41
oh wait, I just reread your post. Let me check that. I did not use video= I used xres=. I'll try it right now.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#42
nope, no go. same blank screen as before.
Posts: 1,308
BitJam
Joined: 31 Aug 2009
#43
Thanks for trying. I'm sorry it didn't work.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#44
BitJam,

Just in case this helps any trouble shooting, linux mint 14 won't even get to a graphical interface with the nomodeset code. THe xorg server on mint complains that no screen is connected. I've yet to get that system into x on this laptop. At least antix gets me to x. I've got everthing working except the brightness controls. Its far too bright for nightime use.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#45
BitJam,

With some extreme google-fu I got the display working properly without using nomodeset parameters. In my case, what I thought was a black screen was actually the backlight being turned all the way off so that I just couldn't see the display. Some other HP owners have been having the same problem with various distros. In mint's case, adding nomodeset didn't get me anywhere. Adding this line to the boot cheatcodes worked, and as a bonus I now have working brightness controls!

Code: Select all

video.use_bios_initial_backlight=0
nomodeset disables KMS which I believe the intel driver requires for the backlight functions. In antix, the backlight defaulted to full power (blacks were gray) but in mint and ubuntu it defaulted to off. Mystery solved for now!