Posts: 243
Aleph
Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#16
Eureka!

In the last moment, just before delete this partition I tried uninstall all the wireless b43 / broadcom stuff and reinstall one more time the b43-installer / b43-cutter. After to do this I have the wifi working!

But... the wifi is disabled at start up and I have to connect manually...

Any advice to solve it?

Thanks.
Posts: 243
Aleph
Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#17
But... the wifi is disabled at start up and I have to connect manually...

Any advice to solve it?
I found this and woks:

Code: Select all

    dbus-send --system --type=method_call --dest=org.freedesktop.NetworkManager /org/freedesktop/NetworkManager org.freedesktop.DBus.Properties.Set string:org.freedesktop.NetworkManager string:WirelessEnabled variant:boolean:true
Was at this forum:


========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=58107"
linktext was:"http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=53&t=58107"
====================================


The question is:

Why was it disabled?
Posts: 1,062
Dave
Joined: 20 Jan 2010
#18
Is it disabled in
/ etc / Network - Manager / interfaces
Where it says
Managed = false
And should say
Managed = true
Because originally there was no interface for network manager to manage?

It seems to me that that is what the dbus command is essentially doing, editing the loaded value from the interfaces file from false to true.
Posts: 243
Aleph
Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#19
Dave wrote:Is it disabled in
/ etc / Network - Manager / interfaces
Where it says
Managed = false
And should say
Managed = true
Because originally there was no interface for network manager to manage?

It seems to me that that is what the dbus command is essentially doing, editing the loaded value from the interfaces file from false to true.
Well, my solution only worked one time... __{{emoticon}}__

Yes @dave, Managed was=false, now is true, but it doesn't work... __{{emoticon}}__

Still I have to bring up the wifi manually.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#20
that isn't what managed= means. the managed=true means that another the interface is defined elsewhere (/ etc/network/interfaces for instance). With managed=false, network-manager is supposed to leave the interface alone to be managed elsewhere. managed=true means network-manager will attempt to be able to affect the interface, but its still defined elsewhere.

I would set the managed back to"false" first.

What do you have to do to bring your wireless up?
Posts: 243
Aleph
Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#21
Hi @dolphin_oracle

Over network manager I do right button and tick"activar inalámbrico" (in Spanish)"Enable Wireless" in English I suppose.

This are ticked:

System>Preferences>StartupApplications>NetworkManager --- checked

NetworkManager>NetworkConnections>Wireless>[mywifinetwork]Edit>AutomaticallyConnect --- checked
Last edited by Aleph on 07 May 2014, 19:41, edited 1 time in total.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#22
does it work if you restart network-manager?

as root

Code: Select all

service network-manager restart
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#23
It is possible you have a state file that is not updating properly.

post the output of

Code: Select all

cat /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state
before enabling your wireless and then again after and lets see if there is a change.
Posts: 243
Aleph
Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#24
Hi @dolphin_oracle

after to do

Code: Select all

service network-manager restart
the wireless autoconnected

after to do this I disabled the wireless and got:

Code: Select all

cat /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state
[main]
NetworkingEnabled=true
WirelessEnabled=false
WWANEnabled=true
WimaxEnabled=true
After I enabled the wireles and got:

Code: Select all

cat /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state
NetworkingEnabled=true
WirelessEnabled=true
WWANEnabled=true
WimaxEnabled=true
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#25
its good that the restart got you working. If we have to, we can add that service command to rc.local to for the restart.

since your .state file is updating, trying restarting the computer and see if the change holds.

If not, issue the service network-manager restart command and confirm the connection comes back up.

Out of curiosity, do you have anything in / etc/network/interfaces?
Posts: 243
Aleph
Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#26
I restarted the computer but no wireless connection.

/ etc/network/interfaces

Code: Select all

# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
What code should I add and where?
Posts: 243
Aleph
Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#27
I did

Code: Select all

service network-manager restart
one more time and it works.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#28
the interfaces file looks correct.

Ok, in /etc there is a file called rc.local. You will edit this file as root and add the"service network-manager restart" command (no quotes) just above the"exit 0" that you will see in the file. Just type it in just like from the command line and save the file. The system will issue the restart command right before X starts.

I'm guessing that somehow your wireless driver module is loading after network-manager starts. this command will force the network-manager restart to after everything else in the system startup sequence, except X.
Posts: 243
Aleph
Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#29
Sorry, I did it but doesn't work __{{emoticon}}__

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh -e
#
# rc.local
#
# This script is executed at the end of each multiuser runlevel.
# Make sure that the script will"exit 0" on success or any other
# value on error.
#
# In order to enable or disable this script just change the execution
# bits.
#
# By default this script does nothing.
service network-manager restart
exit 0
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#30
so maybe its the nm-applet on the toolbar itself that's the problem. We need a way to restart the network-manager service after the toolbar applet starts.