-
Posts: 34
- Joined: 07 Nov 2015
#16
Conkeror ? ))
-
Posts: 521
- Joined: 20 Apr 2015
All it takes is a slight voltage drop to latch up a router, just reach in back of the router, unplug the power, wait 30 seconds, plug the power back in.Aleph wrote:Yes, my system is full updated.
About power cycling I don't know, but my system was working fine with Antix15 just before change the HDD.
When router is back up, test to see if you can get online.
Fought that enough and got a UPS for my modem and router.
EXAMPLE:
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"https://www.amazon.com/Computer-Uninterruptible-Power-Supply-Units/b?ie=UTF8&node=764572"
linktext was:"https://www.amazon.com/Computer-Uninter ... ode=764572"
====================================
-
Posts: 243
- Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#18
Ok, sorry for my english.
I unpluged the router 30 seconds: Not solution...
I unpluged the router 30 seconds: Not solution...
-
Posts: 243
- Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#19
Is relevant this info?
usr /local/bin/BroadcomStartup
etc /network/interfaces
usr /local/bin/BroadcomStartup
Code: Select all
#!/bin/bash
version="BroadcomStartup-1.3 (Apr. 30, 2016)"
# Check that user is root.
[ $(id -u) -eq 0 ] || { echo -e $"\n\t You need to be root!\n" ; exit 1 ; }
show_help () {
printf"$help_text"
exit 0
}
show_version () {
printf"\n$version\n\n"
exit 0
}
help_text="
Usage: `basename $0 | cut -f1 -d_`
The `basename $0 | cut -f1 -d_` script removes the b43, b43legacy and b44 blacklist entries
for Broadcom devices known not to work with the broadcom-sta wl module.
With the exception of the --help and --version options, the `basename $0 | cut -f1 -d_`
script takes no arguments.
valid options:
-h, --help show this help text
-v, --version display the version information
"
while [[ $1 == -* ]]; do
case"$1" in
-h|--help)
show_help ;;
-v|--version)
show_version ;;
*)
printf"\t invalid option: $1 \n\n"
printf"\t Try: $0 -h for full help. \n\n"
exit 1 ;;
esac
done
b43Unblacklist()
{
if [ -f /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom-sta-dkms.conf ]; then
sed -i 's/blacklist b43$/#blacklist b43/;s/blacklist bcma/#blacklist bcma/;s/blacklist ssb/#blacklist ssb/' /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom-sta-dkms.conf
sed -i -e"\$ablacklist wl" /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom-sta-dkms.conf
[ -x /etc/init.d/network-manager ] && service network-manager stop
modprobe -r wl cfg80211
modprobe b43
[ -x /etc/init.d/network-manager ] && service network-manager start
sleep 2 #(small delay and the networks show up)
pkill wpa_supplicant
fi
}
b43legacyUnblacklist()
{
if [ -f /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom-sta-dkms.conf ]; then
sed -i 's/blacklist b43legacy$/#blacklist b43legacy/;s/blacklist ssb/#blacklist ssb/' /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom-sta-dkms.conf
sed -i -e"\$ablacklist wl" /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom-sta-dkms.conf
[ -x /etc/init.d/network-manager ] && service network-manager stop
modprobe -r wl cfg80211
modprobe b43legacy
[ -x /etc/init.d/network-manager ] && service network-manager start
sleep 2 #(small delay and the networks show up)
pkill wpa_supplicant
fi
}
b44Unblacklist()
{
if [ -f /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom-sta-dkms.conf ]; then
sed -i 's/blacklist b44$/#blacklist b44/;s/blacklist ssb/#blacklist ssb/' /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom-sta-dkms.conf
sed -i -e"\$ablacklist wl" /etc/modprobe.d/broadcom-sta-dkms.conf
[ -x /etc/init.d/network-manager ] && service network-manager stop
modprobe b44
[ -x /etc/init.d/network-manager ] && service network-manager start
sleep 2 #(small delay and the networks show up)
pkill wpa_supplicant
fi
}
if [ -e /etc/bcm-ckd ]; then
:
else
touch /etc/bcm-ckd
#test to see if a broadcom wireless internet device is present
lspci -n | grep -E -q '^[^[:space:]]+\.0[[:space:]]+(0280)+(:)+[[:space:]]+(14e4)'
if ["$?" -eq 0 ]; then
case $(lspci -n | grep -E '^[^[:space:]]+\.0[[:space:]]+(0280)+(:)+[[:space:]]+(14e4)' | grep -Eio '[a-f0-9]{4}:[a-f0-9]{4}' | grep -Eio [a-f0-9]{4}$ | tr '[A-Z]' '[a-z]') in
4307|4318|4319|4321|4322|4350|43a9|43aa|a8d6|a8db) b43Unblacklist
;;
4311|4312|4328) b43Unblacklist
;;
4301|4306|4325) b43legacyUnblacklist
;;
4320) #test to see if BCM4306/2 or BCM4306/3
#assuming that the first line of the lspci -vnn report for a BCM4306/2 device ends with"(rev 02)", can someone verify?
lspci -vnn -d 14e4:4320 | head -n1 | cut -f2- -d] | cut -c3- | grep -q BCM4306.*"(rev 02)$"
if ["$?" -eq 0 ]; then
b43legacyUnblacklist
fi
#assuming that the first line of the lspci -vnn report for a BCM4306/3 device ends with"(rev 03)", can someone verify?
lspci -vnn -d 14e4:4320 | head -n1 | cut -f2- -d] | cut -c3- | grep -q BCM4306.*"(rev 03)$"
if ["$?" -eq 0 ]; then
b43Unblacklist
fi
;;
4324) #test to see if BCM4306 or BCM4306/6
#assuming that the first line of the lspci -vnn report for a BCM4306 device ends with"[14e4:4324]", can someone verify?
lspci -vnn -d 14e4:4324 | head -n1 | cut -f2- -d] | cut -c3- | grep -q BCM4306.*"\[14e4:4324\]$"
if ["$?" -eq 0 ]; then
b43legacyUnblacklist
fi
#assuming that the first line of the lspci -vnn report for a BCM4306/6 device ends with"(rev 06)", can someone verify?
lspci -vnn -d 14e4:4324 | head -n1 | cut -f2- -d] | cut -c3- | grep -q BCM4306.*"(rev 06)$"
if ["$?" -eq 0 ]; then
b43Unblacklist
fi
;;
*) #misc type of broadcom device that we don't know what to do with, so do nothing
:
;;
esac
else
#broadcom wireless device not found, so do nothing
:
fi
#test to see if a broadcom wired internet device is present
lspci -n | grep -E -q '^[^[:space:]]+\.0[[:space:]]+(0200)+(:)+[[:space:]]+(14e4)'
if ["$?" -eq 0 ]; then
case $(lspci -n | grep -E '^[^[:space:]]+\.0[[:space:]]+(0200)+(:)+[[:space:]]+(14e4)' | grep -Eio '[a-f0-9]{4}:[a-f0-9]{4}' | grep -Eio [a-f0-9]{4}$ | tr '[A-Z]' '[a-z]') in
170c|4401|4402) b44Unblacklist
;;
*) #misc type of broadcom wired internet device that we don't know what to do with, so do nothing
:
;;
esac
else
#broadcom wired internet device not found, so do nothing
:
fi
fi
Code: Select all
# interfaces(5) file used by ifup(8) and ifdown(8)
# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
# The primary network interface
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp
allow-hotplug eth1
iface eth1 inet dhcp
allow-hotplug eth2
iface eth2 inet dhcp
allow-hotplug eth3
iface eth3 inet dhcp
allow-hotplug eth4
iface eth4 inet dhcp
allow-hotplug eth5
iface eth5 inet dhcp
-
Posts: 243
- Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#20
I installed a new kernel, the 4.8.10 and the wifi was up when boot!
Now I will continue looking for a 2Gb RAM card and the best browser. The"AntiX browser"... __{{emoticon}}__
For the momment with this HDD the boot is faster than before!! 33 seconds with wifi up!!
I was right. __{{emoticon}}__Aleph wrote:Maybe the kernel?
I installed a new kernel, the 4.8.10 and the wifi was up when boot!
Now I will continue looking for a 2Gb RAM card and the best browser. The"AntiX browser"... __{{emoticon}}__
For the momment with this HDD the boot is faster than before!! 33 seconds with wifi up!!
-
Posts: 521
- Joined: 20 Apr 2015
#21
Unusual, but glad it worked for you.
-
Posts: 243
- Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#22
Thank you very much for your help Shay!!
Yes, weird, I don't know what was the problem really but with the 4.8.10 kernel is working.Shay wrote:Unusual, but glad it worked for you.
Thank you very much for your help Shay!!
-
Posts: 243
- Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#23
Otter is not at the Antix repositories.
I tried Seamonkey before, I think Semonkey is almost Firfox.skidoo wrote:Missing from your list of alternatives: Otter browser, and Seamonkey
MX Linux has deb packages for both of these.
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://forum.mxlinux.org/viewtopic.php?f=121&t=40801&p=404218"
linktext was:"http://forum.mxlinux.org/viewtopic.php? ... 1&p=404218"
====================================
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://forum.mxlinux.org/viewtopic.php?f=121&t=39002&p=402861"
linktext was:"http://forum.mxlinux.org/viewtopic.php? ... 2&p=402861"
====================================
If you decide to test drive these, please post back to let others know whether they are low-resource friendly.
Otter is not at the Antix repositories.
-
Posts: 243
- Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#24
---------------
- I also tried Netsurf, It seems light weight but with many problems displaying some web pages.
- Midori: it uses very low RAM, however it has also problems displaying some webs.
- Opera: everything was ok. Fast, without problems, however use a lot of RAM.
- I tried Conkeror but it seems not very light weight, maybe I am wrong.koolstofje wrote:Conkeror ? ))
---------------
- I also tried Netsurf, It seems light weight but with many problems displaying some web pages.
- Midori: it uses very low RAM, however it has also problems displaying some webs.
- Opera: everything was ok. Fast, without problems, however use a lot of RAM.
-
Posts: 80
- Joined: 26 Dec 2016
#25
When I was actively testing Q4OS Linux, similar question about fast browser was asked on Q4OS forum. One very experienced community member advised Slimjet
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.slimjet.com/?lang=en"
linktext was:"http://www.slimjet.com/?lang=en"
====================================
I have tested it not for a long time, because my favourite browser is Firefox, and Slimjet is built on top of the Chromium, but it is much more functional than original Chromium browser. Haven't tested it on antiX though.
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.slimjet.com/?lang=en"
linktext was:"http://www.slimjet.com/?lang=en"
====================================
I have tested it not for a long time, because my favourite browser is Firefox, and Slimjet is built on top of the Chromium, but it is much more functional than original Chromium browser. Haven't tested it on antiX though.
-
Posts: 243
- Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#26
For the momment the winner for me is Qupzilla.
Palemoon is also lightweight and now is working fine in AntiX, however Qupzilla is the best option for me on this laptop. Nothing better, I think.
Midori is not on the repos.
More suggestions?
We have AntiX, the best OS for old machines, but we have not a AntiX like web browser unfortunately... __{{emoticon}}__
Slimjet seems to be very very fast but not so lightweight, maybe I am wrong... And it is not in our repos.Rademes wrote:When I was actively testing Q4OS Linux, similar question about fast browser was asked on Q4OS forum. One very experienced community member advised Slimjet
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.slimjet.com/?lang=en"
linktext was:"http://www.slimjet.com/?lang=en"
====================================
I have tested it not for a long time, because my favourite browser is Firefox, and Slimjet is built on top of the Chromium, but it is much more functional than original Chromium browser. Haven't tested it on antiX though.
For the momment the winner for me is Qupzilla.
Palemoon is also lightweight and now is working fine in AntiX, however Qupzilla is the best option for me on this laptop. Nothing better, I think.
Midori is not on the repos.
More suggestions?
We have AntiX, the best OS for old machines, but we have not a AntiX like web browser unfortunately... __{{emoticon}}__
-
Posts: 604
- Joined: 27 Feb 2009
#27
QtWeb would be another to try.
I've tried Midori a number of times but it seemed to crash a lot. A year ago was the last time I tried it.
I've tried Midori a number of times but it seemed to crash a lot. A year ago was the last time I tried it.
-
Posts: 80
- Joined: 26 Dec 2016
#28
SRWare Iron is positioned as very secure browser without any user activity tracking and spying stuff.
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.srware.net/en/software_srware_iron.php"
linktext was:"http://www.srware.net/en/software_srware_iron.php"
====================================
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.srware.net/en/software_srware_iron_chrome_vs_iron.php"
linktext was:"http://www.srware.net/en/software_srwar ... s_iron.php"
====================================
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.srware.net/en/software_srware_iron.php"
linktext was:"http://www.srware.net/en/software_srware_iron.php"
====================================
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.srware.net/en/software_srware_iron_chrome_vs_iron.php"
linktext was:"http://www.srware.net/en/software_srwar ... s_iron.php"
====================================
-
Posts: 243
- Joined: 09 Aug 2013
#29
Yes, QTWeb is lightweight, I tried it yesterday. You don't have to install it is portable. However in the same way than Qupzilla and Palemoon, not better, I think.thriftee wrote:QtWeb would be another to try.
I've tried Midori a number of times but it seemed to crash a lot. A year ago was the last time I tried it.
Sound interesting, I installed SRWare Iron yesterday. However it is a lot heavy...Rademes wrote:SRWare Iron is positioned as very secure browser without any user activity tracking and spying stuff.
<a class="vglnk" href="http://www.srware.net/en/software_srware_iron.php" rel="nofollow"><span>http</span><span>://</span><span>www</span><span>.</span><span>srware</span><span>.</span><span>net</span><span>/</span><span>en</span><span>/</span><span>software</span><span>_</span><span>srware</span><span>_</span><span>iron</span><span>.</span><span>php</span></a>
<a class="vglnk" href="http://www.srware.net/en/software_srwar ... s_iron.php" rel="nofollow"><span>http</span><span>://</span><span>www</span><span>.</span><span>srware</span><span>.</span><span>net</span><span>/</span><span>en</span><span>/</span><span>software</span><span>_</span><span>srware</span><span>_</span><span>iron</span><span>_</span><span>chrome</span><span>_</span><span>vs</span><span>_</span><span>iron</span><span>.</span><span>php</span></a>
-
Posts: 604
- Joined: 27 Feb 2009
#30
Yes, I agree that I didn't notice much difference memory wise once I had a lot of browser tabs going, the memory used was similar with QTWeb and Firefox. I tried Qupzilla before with similar results.
I tried Otter yesterday and it was a complete waste of time because it requires a 64 bit OS which I'm not running. I still have a few 32 bit only machines, so maybe its time to give up on them, and switch all to 64 bit. But I hate to change everything again.
Dillo is much crisper and uses a fraction of the memory, but it doesn't work for more complex sites. At one point I thought the solution was to use Dillo for the simpler sites and use one of the bigger ones for the others, but it doesn't seem to work well doing that because it forces me to choose for each site which browser to use, etc. Unfortunately the sites seem to get more and more complex and don't seem to care what resources users need to run them, as they test with the big browsers, not lightweight ones like Dillo.
I tried Otter yesterday and it was a complete waste of time because it requires a 64 bit OS which I'm not running. I still have a few 32 bit only machines, so maybe its time to give up on them, and switch all to 64 bit. But I hate to change everything again.
Dillo is much crisper and uses a fraction of the memory, but it doesn't work for more complex sites. At one point I thought the solution was to use Dillo for the simpler sites and use one of the bigger ones for the others, but it doesn't seem to work well doing that because it forces me to choose for each site which browser to use, etc. Unfortunately the sites seem to get more and more complex and don't seem to care what resources users need to run them, as they test with the big browsers, not lightweight ones like Dillo.