greyowl
I am trying to install Master PDF Editor.

I received the following instructions from the Master PDF people:
Please, download this Master PDF Editor package and install it from console.

========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://get.code-industry.net/public/master-pdf-editor-4.2.70_qt5.amd64.tar.gz"
linktext was:"http://get.code-industry.net/public/mas ... d64.tar.gz"
====================================

To install, unpack it to /opt/ and set the masterpdfeditor4 to runnable as well. This way it will automatically find Qt packages.

I am new to Linux and don't know how to do this.
Could someone walk me through the steps?
Thanks
Last edited by greyowl on 13 Aug 2017, 23:36, edited 2 times in total.
rokytnji
Use spacefm as root to extract your tar.gz in /opt. You can copy and paste your tar.gz from whever it sits to /opt using spacefm as root user. Right click in spacefm will show the option to do this.

Code: Select all

sudo spacefm 
Should handle this. I usually use su myself. But I am more experienced running stuff out /opt than you are I think. Launcher should be something like /opt/whatever folder name is goes here/launcher.

I usually change user permissions in /opt on a application I want to run out of a root folder like /opt.

These are just general instructions without going into specifics . Hopefully someone else will give better details when you supply more info on what ya got.
greyowl
Thank you it worked.
I was able to extract the tarball to /opt/. Then I right clicked on Master PDF Editor and chose Execute and the program opened.

I followed your instructions for the launcher, but I couldn't get it to open the program. I put the following in the terminal: /opt/masterpdfeditor4/launcher. Am I doing something wrong?

Now, I just need to put the program on my applications menu.
How do I do this?
fatmac