topic title: Sid
anticapitalista
Site Admin
Some users of sidux are having problems getting nvidia to work with the 2.6.25 kernel.
A sidux 2.6.24 kernel works fine with nvidia.
DJiNN
Well, i've done it...... changed to sid & sidux and done the dist-upgrade and all seems to be working well. __{{emoticon}}__

I didn't do a kernel upgrade though (although i was tempted) mainly because i've never done one before, and i don't know how to go about it.

I'm a bit confused as well, because on the sidux forums it says NOT to use synaptic to do install anything, but always use apt-get (Which is kool, kind of) and also never to do a dist-upgrade from within X, but to always drop to init3 and go from there. I've just done a dist-upgrade from within X and it's all worked fine, so what's the biggie on that one?

So i think a bit of research on upgrading the kernel is in order, before i take the plunge for that one. Maybe in a few days or so. __{{emoticon}}__

I'm now contemplating whether to install KDE or not..... I love Konqueror but don't really want the whole KDE thing.... but i guess that's the only way to get it eh? All these decisions are making me thirsty.... time for a cup of tea and some thinking. __{{emoticon}}__
masinick
DJiNN wrote:After masinick mentioned the sidux repos, i thought i'd install a recent version of sidux here on the same machine i've got antiX on..... WOW!! Sidux is fast!! Even running KDE it's fast. But i never realised just how much work's involved keeping sidux running well. __{{emoticon}}__

The whole"Don't dist-upgrade" whilst in X really threw me, because it's what i'm used to doing. So i read a bit more, downloaded the smix script and had a play..... nice, but it seems even more work than an Arch install!! (Or am i missing something obvious here?) LOL!!