topic title: xorg check?
Posts: 765
rust collector
Joined: 27 Dec 2011
#1
Ok, when I run sgfxi, it installs"intel", and writes a xorg.conf file.
But when I try to startx again, it says it can not find a screen, and leave me out of X.

This is my xorg.conf:

Code: Select all

Section"ServerLayout"
    Identifier    "X.org Configured"
    Screen      0 "Screen0" 0 0
    Screen      1 "Screen1" RightOf"Screen0"
    InputDevice   "Mouse0""CorePointer"
    InputDevice   "Keyboard0""CoreKeyboard"
EndSection

Section"Files"
    ModulePath  "/usr/lib/xorg/modules"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/X11/misc"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/X11/cyrillic"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi/:unscaled"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/X11/Type1"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi"
    FontPath    "/usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi"
    FontPath    "/var/lib/defoma/x-ttcidfont-conf.d/dirs/TrueType"
    FontPath    "built-ins"
EndSection

Section"Module"
    Load "glx"
    Load "record"
    Load "extmod"
    Load "dri"
    Load "dbe"
    Load "dri2"
EndSection

Section"InputDevice"
    Identifier "Keyboard0"
    Driver     "kbd"
EndSection

Section"InputDevice"
    Identifier "Mouse0"
    Driver     "mouse"
    Option       "Protocol""auto"
    Option       "Device""/dev/input/mice"
    Option       "ZAxisMapping""4 5 6 7"
EndSection

Section"Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor0"
    VendorName  "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName   "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section"Monitor"
    Identifier  "Monitor1"
    VendorName  "Monitor Vendor"
    ModelName   "Monitor Model"
EndSection

Section"Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>:"True"/"False",
        ### <string>:"String", <freq>:"<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
        ### <percent>:"<f>%"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option    "ShadowFB"               # [<bool>]
        #Option    "Rotate"                 # <str>
        #Option    "fbdev"                  # <str>
        #Option    "debug"                  # [<bool>]
    Identifier "Card0"
    Driver     "fbdev"
    BusID      "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section"Device"
        ### Available Driver options are:-
        ### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>:"True"/"False",
        ### <string>:"String", <freq>:"<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
        ### <percent>:"<f>%"
        ### [arg]: arg optional
        #Option    "ShadowFB"               # [<bool>]
        #Option    "DefaultRefresh"         # [<bool>]
        #Option    "ModeSetClearScreen"     # [<bool>]
    Identifier "Card1"
    Driver     "vesa"
    BusID      "PCI:0:2:0"
EndSection

Section"Screen"
    Identifier"Screen0"
    Device    "Card0"
    Monitor   "Monitor0"
    SubSection"Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     1
    EndSubSection
    SubSection"Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     4
    EndSubSection
    SubSection"Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     8
    EndSubSection
    SubSection"Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     15
    EndSubSection
    SubSection"Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     16
    EndSubSection
    SubSection"Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

Section"Screen"
    Identifier"Screen1"
    Device    "Card1"
    Monitor   "Monitor1"
    SubSection"Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     1
    EndSubSection
    SubSection"Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     4
    EndSubSection
    SubSection"Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     8
    EndSubSection
    SubSection"Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     15
    EndSubSection
    SubSection"Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     16
    EndSubSection
    SubSection"Display"
        Viewport   0 0
        Depth     24
    EndSubSection
EndSection

does anyone see anything that would keep it from finding a screen here?

Is there anything else I should be looking at?
Posts: 1,062
Dave
Joined: 20 Jan 2010
#2
RC, at quick glace you say you installed an intel driver?
Your xorg.conf says otherwise with fbdev and vesa, maybe try changing them to intel. I will inspect a little closer and see if there is anything else out of place
Posts: 765
rust collector
Joined: 27 Dec 2011
#3
Ok, Thanks!
I changed the vesa and fbdev's to intel, but I could still not startx.

Now that I think about it, right now, I don't care what driver it uses, as long as something works.
So, really, I should look at the"screen" part, as it complains that it can not find a screen??
If my thinking is right, it has to be something in that file, as if I rename, or delete it, it works again.
Hmmm
Posts: 609
dark-D
Joined: 02 Jun 2008
#4
my suggestion is to delete xorg.conf and reboot, to see if it starts.
xorg.conf is not needed except if you use custom settings like multiple monitors, special peripherals or proprietary drivers.
Posts: 765
rust collector
Joined: 27 Dec 2011
#5
yea, that works fine, but then I am back to fbdev (where I started)
It should be possible to have a working .conf, I would think?
The idea was to get the"intel" driver working.

Well, don't worry too much about it, it is no big deal, just today's project.
Posts: 609
dark-D
Joined: 02 Jun 2008
#6
are you sure? what is inxi -G showing? i have intel driver active without a xorg.conf.

Code: Select all

inxi -G
Graphics:  Card: Intel Mobile GM965/GL960 Integrated Graphics Controller (primary) 
           X.Org: 1.12.4 driver: intel Resolution: 1280x800@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel 965GM x86/MMX/SSE2 GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.5
Posts: 765
rust collector
Joined: 27 Dec 2011
#7

Code: Select all

kberg@antieeepc:~
$ inxi -G
Graphics:  Card: Intel Atom Processor D2xxx/N2xxx Integrated Graphics Controller 
           X.Org: 1.12.4 drivers: fbdev,vesa (unloaded: intel) Resolution: 1024x600@0.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: N/A GLX Version: N/A

I tried to run inxi -G before I deleted the xorg.conf, and intel was working, and fbdev and vesa unloaded.

I also know this thing can be hard to get working right, but most of the posts i have read today, says it works, but they get the wrong resolution.
Posts: 609
dark-D
Joined: 02 Jun 2008
#8
what if you create a xorg.conf with this in it?

Code: Select all

Section"Device"
   Identifier"Intel Graphics"
   Driver"intel"
   Option"DRI""True"
EndSection
if this doesn't work try with acceleration off:

Code: Select all

Section"Device"
   Identifier"Intel Graphics"
   Driver"intel"
   Option"DRI""False"
EndSection
apart from that maybe try using sna. and i don't have any other ideas. hope you solve it.
Posts: 765
rust collector
Joined: 27 Dec 2011
#9
Thank you d-d! I will try that