rocketron
I am new to Linux, I have tried most small distros and find Antix really fine for my Eeepc701 4g. I have spent days reviewing/ searching web pages for knowledge but stil cant get where i want to be. ( iam retired so the grey matter is slowing down too.)

i am beginning to understand the terminal input system .
I want to download and install tweakeee so I copy / paste the lines from their website; terminal then asks for my password . It rejects my logon password and i dont have another!.
also i dont know how/ where to amend the" noatime" to limit writes to the SSD which i have seen recommended for eeepc.
plvera
Hello rocketron and welcome to Antix:

It's best if you download a package and install it. You can use a terminal, for example, open a terminal, type su, hit enter, type password
and then do apt-get update apt-get install"package-name".

An easier alternative might be to run synaptic. Under control center>system>manage packages
then it will ask you for your password.
click on reload first (same as apt-get update)
and then click on search and type the name of the program you want, and if it finds it, mark it for installation and then apply. It will install the package. This might be easier to do than apt-get.

I hope this helps you. Post if you have any problems or other questions,

Regards,
Pedro
rokytnji
Howdy and Welcome rocketron. I guess I am finally not the only 701 AntiX user on the forum with a successful install.

for the noatime edit. From Menu left click on run. It should open gexec. Type in pcmanfm. Tick on the box to open as root.

You will be asked for password. Your root password should have been asked for and entered during your install of AntiX. Not sure why You are having trouble with password.

pcmanfm file manager should open after password is entered as root. You may see permission denied. Just hit the ok button. Then drill down to /etc/fstab. Right click and open with leafpad. You can edit fstab then for noatime.