stakhanov
Hello all,
I'm new to antix and I like the look of it. My problem is that I'm unable to log in as root. This applies if I log out and attempt to log back in or if I shutdown and attempt a root log in from boot.
I'm not able to use"sudo" as, apparently, antix doesn't permit user to perform such actions so for"apt-get" I need to be root.
My test box is an old Dell GX260 with a P4 and 2G DDR, it's run just about everything before.
Any help would be gratefully received.
plvera
Hello Stakhanov and welcome to Antix:

Antix does not support logging in as root. Just log in as a regular user, open a terminal and type:

su

and then your root password (which you set up during install)

then you can perform root functions, such as apt-get.

Post if you have any other problems and enjoy Antix.

Pedro
anticapitalista
Site Admin
Welcome to antiX.

As Pedro says, plus if you use a gui app as root, use sux rather than su.
If you really want to be able to login as root (not advisable, but it is your box), copy the .xinitrc file in your home/username folder (it is hidden) to /root folder.
stakhanov
Thank you gentlemen,
I discovered the antix way just a few minutes ago but I appreciate your replies. Apt-get couldn't find the package I wanted (giver) anyway but at least I can use it for other applications.
plvera
Did you try apt-get update first? Also, might want to try synaptic under control center.
Stuart O'mahony
As an addendum to this, should you wish to, it is still possible to use sudo in Anti-x; just do the following:

Code: Select all

su
apt-get install sudo
geany /etc/sudoers 2> /dev/null &
In the geany editor, copy the line that reads 'root ALL=(ALL) ALL', and paste it to the next line, replacing 'root' with your username, i.e. mine reads 'stuart ALL=(ALL) ALL'. Save and close down geany, and 'exit' at the commandline.

Now you can run sudo. You can also add your username to the 'wheel' group, but I forget how this is done now.
Colonel Panic