Big_Dog1968
Hi,
I am relatively new to Linux and brand new to AntiX. I have mostly used Mint. I am trying Antix out on a partition of my main PC and if I find it easy enough, I will put it on my sister's PC which is older and limited in configuration (celeron 900 & 128MB ram).

I have no clue how to install the ATI Driver (HD3850 card) on my system. In Mint I just used envy and that was that. I found a website linked from this forum, with a SGFXI script that is supposed to do the same thing. It is downloaded in my home/daddy/ directory but when I open a root terminal, switch to that directory and type the file name I get a message saying no such command. the instructions said to type sgfxi -h (no idea what the -h does to it.

Is this script safe? Does it work with Antix? Is there a how to for newbies?
Thanks. __{{emoticon}}__
anticapitalista
Site Admin
Welcome to antiX, Big_Dog1968.

You are right to download the smxi and components script (sgfxi), but you must put it in /usr/local/bin.

Here is a basic how to. (5th post from h2 the creator of smxi)

========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"antix.freeforu ms.org/smxi-script-on-antix-t864.html?highlight=smxi"
linktext was:"antix.freeforu ms.org/smxi-script ... light=smxi"
====================================

You have to run smxi/sgfxi out of X and as root. Easiest way is to
Ctrl Alt F1
login as root
sgfxi

follow instructions.

BTW What version of antiX do you have?
Big_Dog1968
I wound up finding that post, with a downloadable zip file that successfully launched. I should have looked harder before asking.

Only thing is, it was a bit scary. Not quite sure what I said"yes" and"no" to if you know what I mean.
Last edited by Big_Dog1968 on 17 Aug 2008, 20:08, edited 1 time in total.
Big_Dog1968