Posts: 17
luker
Joined: 22 Oct 2014
#1
Hi forum,

my Toshiba Tecra 8000 doesn't seem to produce any sound. Doesn't start alsamixer, dmesg doesn't output anything containing"snd","inxi -F" doesn't contain any sound card.

The laptop is equipped with a Yamaha Opl3 chip. Is
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Matrix:module-opl3-sa2"
linktext was:"http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index. ... e-opl3-sa2"
====================================
the only way to get it to work?
Does anyone know a simpler way? Something like"apt-get install this-and-that" and it works?
Posts: 850
fatmac
Joined: 26 Jul 2012
#2
As the root operator try

Code: Select all

apt-get install snd-opl3-sa2
If you have the module snd-opl3-sa2, you can modprobe it, but I get the feeling you need to compile it on your machine, just like I had to do for the Intel driver on my HP G62 when I first got it. I no longer have to do that as the driver gets built OK nowadays, so until it gets built in, I think you will need to compile it.
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#3
Sounds like a kernel thing to me.


========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91177"
linktext was:"http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 2102764808"
====================================


You might want to try a older Debian kernel in the 2.6 range I would think to get that module included in the kernel. I figure you may be suffering from kernel
regression and support for that ancient yamaha card was dropped to save space on the kernel size which keeps getting bigger as more hardware needs supporting.

I am wondering if
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/puppy-71/anitaos-puppy-linux-4-unleashed-fork-4175500941/"
linktext was:"http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... 175500941/"
====================================
if that might support your yamaha card better.

@fatmac
so until it gets built in,
I have a feeling it was built in a long time ago.

========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"https://www.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/people/marcelo/linux-2.4/Documentation/sound/OPL3-SA2"
linktext was:"January 7, 2001"
====================================
Posts: 17
luker
Joined: 22 Oct 2014
#4
@fatmac
All packages whose name starts with"snd" belong to a sound file editor of that name. Are the drivers in a repository that is not known to apt by default?
Posts: 850
fatmac
Joined: 26 Jul 2012
#5
If it's an available package, an apt-get will download & install it. However, it sounds like you will have to compile alsa on your machine to get that card working.


========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Main_Page"
linktext was:"http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Main_Page"
====================================
Posts: 17
luker
Joined: 22 Oct 2014
#6
The package doesn't seem to be available. At least not in the standard repos:

Code: Select all

$ apt-get install snd-opl3-sa2
Paketlisten werden gelesen... Fertig
Abhängigkeitsbaum wird aufgebaut.       
Statusinformationen werden eingelesen.... Fertig
E: Paket snd-opl3-sa2 kann nicht gefunden werden.[Something like"Package not found"]
So I tried
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/Matrix:Module-opl3-sa2"
linktext was:"http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index. ... e-opl3-sa2"
====================================

and failed because

Code: Select all

$ ./configure whatever
doesn't do anything. The configure script (I guess that's what it is?) is not in the downloaded tarball. Nor is it in a checkout from the git repo.

How did you get your driver compiled?
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#7
First off. Do you have build-essential package installed?

Looking at your link instructions for installing.

They seem pretty straight foward to me

./configure --with-cards=opl3-sa2 --with-sequencer=yes

Then make

then sudo make install.

if missing any libs. configure will mention them. All commands must be ran in the folder you unzipped.
Posts: 17
luker
Joined: 22 Oct 2014
#8
There is no"./configure" to execute in the downloaded sources, therefore it won't mention anything.
Is there something that's not mentioned in the instructions because everyone knows it, except me, how to get that"./configure" to work?
Posts: 850
fatmac
Joined: 26 Jul 2012
#9
There should be a README file that will tell you how to set it up.
It is a while since I had to do this, but I think I had to give .configure about 4 extra options on my HP-G62.
Posts: 850
fatmac
Joined: 26 Jul 2012
#10
Here's what I did :-
Dowloaded alsa-driver package, installed linux-source & linux-headers, then ran

Code: Select all

./configure --with-debug=full --enable-dynamic-minors --with-moddir=updates
then

Code: Select all

make && make install
reboot.
Posts: 17
luker
Joined: 22 Oct 2014
#11
Even though I'm risking to repeat myself: There is no"./configure" executable file. It won't therefore take any argument at all.
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#12
luker wrote:Even though I'm risking to repeat myself: There is no"./configure" executable file. It won't therefore take any argument at all.
Maybe a corrupted downloaded file? One does not know what to say? If I had the configure text file. I'd upload it here to the thread. But I do not have
that sound chip. There are tons of downloads at


========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/GIT_Server"
linktext was:"http://www.alsa-project.org/main/index.php/GIT_Server"
====================================


Not once in this thread has anyone given a link on which one fits this card. I sure in the heck do not know myself.
Heck. Maybe you grabbed the wrong one luker since everyone else that has this gear seems to be able to get it to work.
Posts: 17
luker
Joined: 22 Oct 2014
#13
It's been a while but I have sound now.

I had to compile a custom kernel with support for ISA bus and ISA Plug'n'Play because both were ditched from the standard kernel some time ago. The Yamaha OPL3 connects to the system via ISA bus.

As I was at it anyway, I added OPL3 module support the same way. Was quite a bit of work for the venerable PII-300, but it got the job done in one day. Thank you all fr your hints on the subject.

Now here's the big But: Playback only, no recording yet. Any ideas on that? (I already checked the mixer and that it works in Win98SE.)
with arecord, there's just an error message about not being allowed to create the output file although it gets created and has a size of 42 bytes every time (I don't recall the exact number of bytes nor the exact error message, sorry. Will add that later.)
Posts: 1,444
skidoo
Joined: 09 Feb 2012
#14
forty-two bytes? Are you sure it wasn't 44?
reminds me of this discussion: viewtopic.php?f=16&t=6470