husunzi
Hi everyone,

I'm new to antiX, & to linux in general, so please bear with me. I'll appreciate any efforts you make to explain things in detail & in simple language. Just assume I don't know anything about linux.

I've searched both this forum & the one on mepislovers & haven't found any answers to most of my questions, but please direct me to any instructions for antiX beginners you know of.

I've just installed the 7.01 version of antiX onto an old (2000, I think) Toshiba Satellite 2800 (a laptop) w/ a 36 gig harddrive & 186 megs of ram. Not sure what kind of processor it has or how to find out (there's not sticker indicating that).

By the way, I just noticed there's now a 7.2 version of antiX so i'm downloading that now & plan to see if that will solve some of my problems.

So my first question is how to keep iceweasel from closing every time i hit shift or tab. I can access the internet via iceweasel, but every time i hit the shift or tab key the browser closes, so now i'm using another computer just to post this message.

The second, more important question is how can I open the synaptic? When i select the synaptic, the terminal comes up & ask for my password, but whether i type the root password or my user password, the terminal just closes.

The third question is how can i open abiword & several of the other applications already installed on antiX. Some of the applications open & some don't. Like I said, iceweasel opens, as do a few others, but when i select some of them - for example abiword - it will act like it's going to open (what do you call that screen that comes up when an application is about to open w/ the application's name on it? well that will open) for a few seconds, & then it just disappears. (I've checked under the various"workspaces" & it's not there.)