Posts: 177
rmcellig
Joined: 04 Mar 2014
#1
I see there is a way to switch repositories from Wheezy to Testing by uncomenting what I want to use in debian.list. Is this all I have to do if I want to switch from Wheezy to Testing?

Does the software always get updated to the latest that is in the Testing repos? Sort of like the way Arch works? A Rolling release so that I never have to update anything, it is always updated for me? I just want some charification before proceeding.

Thanks!
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#2
Post a inxi -F since we don't know what you have installed to what.

Also a inxi -r so we can see what active repos you are running.

Don't forget to remove forward slash"/" in front of etc because a forum bug will forbid it when you hit submit post.

If me. Since fstab was the only edit on your install. I would just reinstall and set installer to using testing. Then dist-upgrade after a update. Using the root terminal in menu.

Code: Select all

apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade
Let it finish. My testing repo set installs of AntiX 11 and 13 were fresh as daisies without a reinstall. I blew away the 11 installs and still have a couple of 13 still going on. All my other gear is on 15 Beta 3 at the moment.
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#3
Oh yeah. Control Center has some ways to access and edit sources.list using geany also in System.
Posts: 177
rmcellig
Joined: 04 Mar 2014
#4
Here you go:

Code: Select all

randy@antiX1:~
$ inxi -F
System:    Host: antiX1 Kernel: 3.7.10-antix.5-486-smp i686 (32 bit)
           Desktop: IceWM 1.3.7
           Distro: antiX-13.2_386-full Luddite 4 November 2013
Machine:   System: LENOVO product: 200762U v: ThinkPad T60
           Mobo: LENOVO model: 200762U
           Bios: LENOVO v: 79ETE0WW (2.20 ) date: 12/07/2007
CPU:       Dual core Intel T2500 (-MCP-) cache: 2048 KB 
           clock speeds: max: 2000 MHz 1: 1000 MHz 2: 1000 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] ATI Radeon Mobility X1400
           Display Server: X.Org 1.12.4 drivers: ati,radeon (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1400x1050@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV515 GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.5
Audio:     Card Intel NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: ALSA v: k3.7.10-antix.5-486-smp
Network:   Card-1: Intel 82573L Gigabit Ethernet Controller driver: e1000e
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full
           mac: 00:15:58:7c:d8:9f
           Card-2: Atheros AR5212 802.11abg NIC driver: ath5k
           IF: wlan0 state: down mac: 00:19:7d:13:ab:db
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1131.2GB (9.8% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD10JPVX size: 1000.2GB
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdc model: External size: 100.0GB
           ID-3: USB /dev/sdb model: DT_101_G2 size: 30.9GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 29G used: 4.5G (17%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 3.15GB used: 0.01GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda3
           ID-3: swap-2 size: 2.41GB used: 0.01GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdc2
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 76.0C mobo: 42.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 3412
Info:      Processes: 153 Uptime: 16:16 Memory: 1365.4/2023.1MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.16 
randy@antiX1:~

Code: Select all

randy@antiX1:~
$ inxi -r
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: etc/apt/sources.list.d/antix.list
           deb http://antix.daveserver.info/stable stable main
           Active apt sources in file: etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list
           deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ wheezy main contrib non-free
           deb http://security.debian.org/ wheezy/updates main contrib non-free
randy@antiX1:~
$ 

Posts: 1,139
masinick
Joined: 26 Apr 2008
#5
rmcellig wrote:I see there is a way to switch repositories from Wheezy to Testing by uncomenting what I want to use in debian.list. Is this all I have to do if I want to switch from Wheezy to Testing?

Does the software always get updated to the latest that is in the Testing repos? Sort of like the way Arch works? A Rolling release so that I never have to update anything, it is always updated for me? I just want some charification before proceeding.

Thanks!
I can tell you that I have an antiX 13.2 instance that I had set to Testing from the time I started to use it until now and it still works.

It's very different than MX-14 or antiX 15 b3 right now, because both of those are holding on to the system init setup that was the legacy init system - sysvinit and they work fine. If you went from antiX 13.2 and used Testing, somewhere along the way it would have converted the init setup from sysvinit to systemd. I'm not sure if that process would go smoothly or not if you were to try that today.

If you're an"experimenter", then take a full backup of your system before making any changes. That way, if you mess it up to can restore to the previous state and back out your changes. Once you do that, then change your repo from Wheezy to Testing and give it a whirl; a LOT will change, I can tell you that. But for me, since I did it all gradually, ( a long time ago) it was no big deal; besides, I have multiple instances - a couple of copies of MX-14, at least two of antiX 15 b3, and at least one more of antiX 13.2 using"Testing". (some have sysvinit, at least one has systemd). If *I* mess up, I have plenty of other options, as well as either the backup or reinstall alternatives available to me! __{{emoticon}}__
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#6
Yep. To add on to what Masinick mentioned. I was a doing fancy hoop jumping on both of my AntiX 11 and 13 installs that are threads on this forum.
I am not going to bother looking for them though.

SystemD is part of life in testing. If wanting Testing without systemd. Without jumping through hoops.
Reinstall with i386 15 Beta 3 and point repos to testing and update and dist-upgrade it like I mentioned
in a previous post.

Thank you for the inxi reports. It makes answering so much easier here on this forum when addressing problems.
Posts: 177
rmcellig
Joined: 04 Mar 2014
#7
Thanks!!

Is it pretty safe to install i386 15 Beta 3 now?

I think I will do a clean install of this using Testing and using my Home partition this time. I mean't to do that when I installed Antix but forgot. When the final Antix 15 is released will there be a pretty easy way to upgrade from Beta 3? Any idea when the final version is scheduled for release?
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#8
Is it pretty safe to install i386 15 Beta 3 now?
I can say your skin won't peel off your body and you won't die a agonizing death.
But, my mindset is.

If you aren't living on the edge. You are taking up too much space.
When the final Antix 15 is released will there be a pretty easy way to upgrade from Beta 3? Any idea when the final version is scheduled for release?
I don't know. Other members know more than I do. Me? I just make a spare partition any more. Symlink my ~/Documents, ~/Books, blah blah blah
to it. Then when I reinstall. I have a backup already made of current changes I have done. fstab, xmms skins, icewm themes, fluxbox themes.

You name it. I got it covered. That way reinstalls are painless.

Since I got my 1TB external Seagate 2.5 inch drive. I put that bad boy to good use as a backup of anything I wish to keep also.
For anything else. Gmail and Pastebin are also things I use to backup text files , bookmarks, and images online.

My 2 gig Drop Box free account is full of music. So I cannot use it for anything else any more, and these free online sites I have tried.
Which I won't mention names. Have a habit of deleting what I uploaded (just jemimah puppeee isos) , or the site disappears entirely. So I do not trust them any more.