topic title: Sound
terrybull
I have been using version 8.5 on my Panasonic CF-27. All works well. I have recently tried to upgrade to the M11 version but the sound does not work now. I am a newbie so can anyone suggest how I can get the sound working please. Thanks
OU812
Hello.

Launch the control center. Click the hardware tab. Click the configure sound system button.

john
rokytnji
I have a Panasonic Cf-48. It's a bit more powerful than your CF-27.

I have found through my years of using AntiX which is based on Debian that Debian drops sound support for older sound cards sometimes. I ran into this back when I had my IBM 390E. Try OU812s suggestion. The worst case senario is that a come back readout is no supported sound card found. If so. Post

Code: Select all

inxi -F
so members can see what sound card your Panasonic uses. I'm on my IBM T23 right now for example.

Code: Select all

$ inxi -F
System:    Host biker Kernel 2.6.34-stevo i686 (32 bit) 
           Desktop Fluxbox 1.3.1 Distro antiX-M8.5 Marek Edelman 16 February 2010
Machine:   Mobo IBM model 26474MU Bios IBM version 1AET64WW (1.20 ) date 10/18/2006
CPU:       Single core Mobile Intel Pentium III CPU - M (-UP-) cache 512 KB flags (sse) clocked at 798.00 MHz 
Graphics:  Card: S3 SuperSavage IX/C SDR X.Org 1.10.2 driver vesa Resolution 1024x768@71.0hz 
           GLX Renderer Rasterizer GLX Version 2.1 Mesa 7.10.3
Audio:     Card Intel 82801CA/CAM AC'97 Audio Controller driver Intel ICH Sound: ALSA v: 1.0.22.1
Network:   Card-1 Ralink RT2561/RT61 802.11g PCI driver rt61pci 
           IF: wlan0 state: up mac: edited
           Card-2 Intel 82801CAM (ICH3) PRO/100 VE (LOM) Ethernet Controller driver e100 
           IF: eth0 state: down speed: 10 Mbps duplex: half mac: edited
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 80.0GB (12.5% used) 1: /dev/hda ST980815A 80.0GB 
Partition: ID:/ size: 6.8G used: 3.0G (47%) fs: ext3 ID:/home size: 11G used: 1.5G (16%) fs: ext3