silence
Hi, I'm new to Linux and I've recently decided to install a Linux OS on my old laptop (Toshiba Satellite Pro 6000) instead of Windows 98.
antiX looked like a good choice, but I was unable to run the 7.5 liveCD (it returned several pages of"looking for cdrom in /dev/..." followed by"could not locate MEPIS filesystem, sorry" ).
So I tried the 8.0 test version, this time the installation went smoothly, but apparently my wireless card doesn't work...
I thought antiX included the"b43" driver and cards with the Broadcom 4318 chipset were supposed to work out of the box. Is that correct ? Maybe I should wait for the final release ?
eriefisher
I use the b43 driver but I'm not sure how it got here though. Originally it was the bcm43xx driver and whether it was through natural selection or due to the fact that I use sid repos It was updated some time ago. Either way one or the other should be available to you in antix. I have run antix on this laptop since version 7.0 and wireless has never been an issue.
silence
Eriefisher :
Thanks for your answer. Are you sure it works even under 8.0 ? In this thread (
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"antix.freeforu ms.org/my-first-look-at-m8-t1212.html"
linktext was:"antix.freeforu ms.org/my-first-lo ... t1212.html"
====================================
) you seemed to say that there was a problem. How did it work out in the end?
plvera
Hello Silence:

I'm running antix 8 public test 1 in an old Dell Inspiron 7500. I had similar problems as you, livecd did not pickup my linksys pcmcia wireless card, neither did the hard disk install. Ethernet worked fine.

Then I tried a distro upgrade and an a sidux conversion (using smxi) and then I was able to get the wireless card working. I used the mepis network assistant (first choice in Network tab in control center) and clicked on"enable b43...". Then wicd was able to pick up my wireless connection. It now works fine. I hope this helps.