Posts: 71
jtwdyp
Joined: 08 Apr 2012
#1
I've been using Enlightenment since KDE4 came out. I've grown quite fond of it even though I haven't always been happy with some of the decisions made by it's developers.
I'm a multi-distribution/multi-booter, with a stong tendency to do things my own way. But I'm not exactly a programmer. Unless you count poorly written bash scripts. In most respects I'm very dependent on what the developers of the various distributions, Desktop environments, and application projects choose to do. I know how to pick and choose the combinations I like.
But sometimes...{sigh}

I was pleasantly surprised when I installed E17 on my new antiX installation when I got a pop-up message telling me about the edje_convert utility installed by the libedje-bin package. I had it installed once on another distribution and used it to update a few themes that I liked. But only just in time. I tend to depend on whatever version of any applications or even desktop environments as can be installed from the distribution specific repositories via whatever package management tools they offer. For a long time most of my E17 stuff was outdated by the standards of E17's developers By the time I started to need to update those themes to the new edje format, most of my installed distributions were upgrading the E17 in their repositories to a release snapshot taken after the E17 devs decided that edje_convert was no longer needed. By the time I realized it I had just cyclically done"apt-get update && apt-get upgrade" Or it's equivalent on each of my installed distributions and NONE of them any longer had edje_convert anymore.

It was fortunate that I had just used it to update the themes I liked that I had installed to one of the distributions so that I could simply copy the .edj files to the others.

Now that I once again have a copy of the edje_convert utility I'd like to know what I can do to ensure that a future apt-get upgrade, apt-get dist-upgrade, or even apt-get autoremove doesn't someday remove it. The closest thing I can figgure is perhaps by whats called pinning a package. Unfortunately I'm having a bit of trouble understanding the man page. I really don't care what repository, nor what released version of it is installed. But if it should someday no longer be in any of the repos I don't want to lose whatever the latest installed version I have is...

Is this possible?
Last edited by jtwdyp on 18 Apr 2012, 17:32, edited 1 time in total.
Posts: 279
afab4
Joined: 17 Oct 2009
#2
jtwdyp wrote:

Now that I once again have a copy of the edje_convert utility I'd like to know what I can do to ensure that a future apt-get upgrade, apt-get dist-upgrade, or even apt-get autoremove doesn't someday remove it. The closest thing I can figgure is perhaps by whats called pinning a package. Unfortunately I'm having a bit of trouble understanding the man page. I really don't care what repository, nor what released version of it is installed. But if it should someday no longer be in any of the repos I don't want to lose whatever the latest installed version I have is...

Is this possible?
The APT manual here gives a very good tutorial on APT commands including the way to"pin" or hold a package.
You can find it here.
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://manual.aptosid.com/en/sys-admin-apt-en.htm"
linktext was:"http://manual.aptosid.com/en/sys-admin-apt-en.htm"
====================================


to hold your package, from a root terminal:

Code: Select all

echo libedje-bin hold|dpkg --set-selections
This only works though while you are using apt. If you are using the synaptic package manager, you have to also pin the packages to assure they remain untouched.
Posts: 71
jtwdyp
Joined: 08 Apr 2012
#3
afab4 wrote: The APT manual here gives a very good tutorial on APT commands including the way to"pin" or hold a package.
You can find it here.
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://manual.aptosid.com/en/sys-admin-apt-en.htm"
linktext was:"http://manual.aptosid.com/en/sys-admin-apt-en.htm"
====================================


to hold your package, from a root terminal:

Code: Select all

echo libedje-bin hold|dpkg --set-selections
This only works though while you are using apt. If you are using the synaptic package manager, you have to also pin the packages to assure they remain untouched.
I thank you very much. That apt manual has been bookmarked. From what I saw it's a fairly clear comprehensive how-to of everything I'll ever likely need to know about managing my packages except how to pin a package in such a way as cause synaptic to treat it like apt treats a"hold"

But as a matter of fact I already use apt-get for MOST my package updating. Mostly because I never liked to have any system-wide upgrade process depend on X ... But as it happens about the only gui package manager I ever got comfortable with is synaptic. I usually only go there because I like it's package search function. When I don't know the package name I'm looking for I start with synaptic. And if it's only a couple of packages I sometimes let it install them. (copying the package names to an apt-get command line can be somewhat tedious.) So I'm thinking that if I put the package on hold, Then all I need to remember for those few times I use synaptic is to always check the package names it would remove...

Err that is unless: It could happen that I might not notice if synaptic only upgraded or downgraded the libedje-bin package. Would a change in the version number of the package by synaptic break it's apt"hold" status???? In which case I might be well advised to remove the"su-to-root -X -c" from the Exec= line in /usr/share/applications/synaptic.desktop That way I'd HAVE to copy the package name to apt-get...
Posts: 279
afab4
Joined: 17 Oct 2009
#4
jtwdyp wrote: Err that is unless: It could happen that I might not notice if synaptic only upgraded or downgraded the libedje-bin package. Would a change in the version number of the package by synaptic break it's apt"hold" status???? In which case I might be well advised to remove the"su-to-root -X -c" from the Exec= line in /usr/share/applications/synaptic.desktop That way I'd HAVE to copy the package name to apt-get...
Oh yeah...it is important to put the package on hold in both apt and synaptic.
In Synaptic, one can pin packages by using"package > Lock version".
As long as you hold the package in apt, and hold it also in synaptic you will be safe.
The only time you might encounter an issue is if you are trying to install another package that depends on a newer version of your package that is on hold. Neither apt or synaptic is going to let you install until you upgrade that package on hold to the depends version.
Posts: 71
jtwdyp
Joined: 08 Apr 2012
#5
afab4 wrote:Oh yeah...it is important to put the package on hold in both apt and synaptic.
In Synaptic, one can pin packages by using"package > Lock version".
As long as you hold the package in apt, and hold it also in synaptic you will be safe.
Now I feel stupid... If I'd only liked gui tools enough to really explore the menu options in synaptic, I might have known that part...
The only time you might encounter an issue is if you are trying to install another package that depends on a newer version of your package that is on hold. Neither apt or synaptic is going to let you install until you upgrade that package on hold to the depends version.
I don't see that as a problem, If something won't upgrade or install because it needs a different version of libedje-bin, then I presume it will mention libedje-bin in the error report. And temporarily unlocking it would be a no brainer. That's assuming it would be wanting to replace libedje-bin with another version rather than needing to uninstall it to resolve some dependency conflict, of course.
Presumably, when I reset the lock, I'd once again be good to go. Ummnnf! But if I only unlocked it in apt, so that apt-get, could upgrade it, would I need to redo the"Lock version" in syaptic for the new version??? Likewise If I unchecked the Lock version long enough to let synaptic update libedje-bin, would I then need to reissue that apt/dpkg hold command to protect the new version???

I'm guessing the smart thing would be to clear both locks befor updating the package, then reinstating both locks afterwards.
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#6
Since you are a E17 rider/fan. I find this link pretty good for getting around in E17.


========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://hardkap.net/forums/topic/e17-guide"
linktext was:"http://hardkap.net/forums/topic/e17-guide"
====================================
nadir
Posts 0
nadir
#7
Out of curiosity: From where did you install e17? Simply from the Debian-repos? From your OP it sounds like that, but i am not sure.

I gave up on it, as it kept me too busy (though i usually got it installed -this way or the other).
You probably know the easy_e17 script. The good thing, for me, is that once it is installed at /opt i can simply copy it to other machines (the bad thing is that installing plugins/modules needs too much time).
But do you know about debe17.com (hosted by Bro.Tiag) ?
He also has a deb to install it, and just posted about it at the Debian forum:

========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://debe17.com/deb_page/deb_install_page.html"
linktext was:"http://debe17.com/deb_page/deb_install_page.html"
====================================

(i am not sure if that is the right page, if in doubt try to contact him yourself).

I realize that this post doesn't answer your real question (consider it to be a bit of chat).
Posts: 71
jtwdyp
Joined: 08 Apr 2012
#8
rokytnji wrote:Since you are a E17 rider/fan. I find this link pretty good for getting around in E17.

========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://hardkap.net/forums/topic/e17-guide"
linktext was:"http://hardkap.net/forums/topic/e17-guide"
====================================
Yup, there looks to be good stuff in there. Mostly though I'm fairly set in my ways eith E17, and/or even E16. Which I also install when available via the package management system of whichever Distro(s) I'm booting. I use that when I feel like a change of pace, and since I organize both e16 & e17 in nearly the same way, it serves as an excelent back up environment for those times (rare though they be) when my e17 gets trashed (usualy from mine own stpidity)
Incidentaly, When I set up my personal environment with E it involves eleminating almost all the nifty mouse gesture like actions, espesialy with reguard to focus (my focus does NOT follow the mouse around) and desktop area switching (BY KEYBOARD SHORTCUT ONLY) Then I have to throw away every single default keyboard shortcut and create the ones I use. (some of which my fingers learned from kde, but even when I used to use that, I had to make major changes to the shortcuts before I got comfortable with them.) Then I set up 12 desktop areas (one for each <ctrl>+<Fkey> two key combination) give each it's own background image. (since unlike kde4. I organise my activity by desktop area, Email related stuff can be found via <ctrl>+<F2>, Root terminals and synaptic sessions on <ctrl>+<F12>, general keep open web browsing via opera on <ctrl>+<F1>, secure close after session browsing {like on-line banking} via firefox {with noscript} on <ctrl>+<F5>, movies etc on <ctrl>+<F4>, Music on Console usualy running in a yakuake term on <shift>+<ctrl>+<F2>... Well you get the idea... Anyway I visually associate the background image with the type of task to ensure that I'm opening it where I'll expect to find it later...
nadir wrote:Out of curiosity: From where did you install e17? Simply from the Debian-repos? From your OP it sounds like that, but i am not sure.

Well yeah, I guess... aside from
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://deb.opera.com/opera/"
linktext was:"http://deb.opera.com/opera/"
====================================
the rest of the 6 uncommented repos in my sources.list all say debian... And I"found" it via synaptic (search term"enlightenment") so I guess it must be from the debian repos __{{emoticon}}__
nadir wrote:I gave up on it, as it kept me too busy (though i usually got it installed -this way or the other).
I tend to use the (distro-specific) repo via (distro-specific) package management tools to install E Cause then I get my updates (if any) as part of the regular cycle of:
"apt-get update && apt-get dist-upgrade" or (distro-specific) equivelent... I keep too many ***distro's installed to o any of my own dependency debugging... (***on this desktop I've got antiX, Sabayon, Arch, PCLinuxOS, and Xubuntu, (though I never bother with xfce on it anymore, Just E) So with sabayon I'd use"equo update && equo upgrade --ask" And with Arch that would be"pacman -Sy && pacman -Su" or just"pacman -Syu" Before I replaced OpenSuSE with antiX it used to be"zyper ref && zyper dup"
nadir wrote:You probably know the easy_e17 script. The good thing, for me, is that once it is installed at /opt i can simply copy it to other machines (the bad thing is that installing plugins/modules needs too much time).
Yeah, I tried that once back aways, But I was having problems with upgrades, and since most distros have e17 in the repos, and or have a 3rd party repo with a good reputation for it, I gave up in the script...
nadir wrote:But do you know about debe17.com (hosted by Bro.Tiag) ?
He also has a deb to install it, and just posted about it at the Debian forum:

========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://debe17.com/deb_page/deb_install_page.html"
linktext was:"http://debe17.com/deb_page/deb_install_page.html"
====================================

(i am not sure if that is the right page, if in doubt try to contact him yourself).
No I wasn't aware of that page. And if reasonably uptodate versions of E17 (and sometimes E16) weren't readily available from most distro/repos I'd probably try it... As it is I think I'll bookmark it cause, well, you never know...
nadir wrote:I realize that this post doesn't answer your real question (consider it to be a bit of chat).
No prob... My real question has already been answered. So I guess I should figure out how to mark this thread as solved.