Posts: 127
KrunchTime
Joined: 05 Dec 2014
#1
I'm dual booting CrunchBang and antiX. Grub (v1.99) for CrunchBang is in the MBR and grub for antiX is in antiX root.

Sequence of events leading up to the issue:
01) Fresh install of antiX 13-2 tracking Testing repo on sda2.
02) Performed dist-upgrade
03) Installed a few packages (aptitude, debfoster, popularity-contest)
04) Rebooted (reboot took unusually long)
05) Booted CrunchBang (on sda1), dropped to terminal, ran sudo update-grub
06) Reboot
07) Chose first entry for antiX (non inti-3) from grub menu
08) Boot sequence hangs
09) Hard shutdown (power switch)
10) Reboot
11) Chose second entry for antiX (inti-3) from grub menu
12) Boot sequence hangs

inxi output (under CrunchBang):

Code: Select all

Machine:   System: ASUSTeK product: ET2321I v: 0606
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: ET2321I v: Rev 1.xx
           Bios: American Megatrends v: 0606 date: 05/16/2014
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i7-4500U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 4096 KB 
           clock speeds: max: 3000 MHz 1: 2094 MHz 2: 1236 MHz 3: 2174 MHz
           4: 1527 MHz
Graphics:  Card-1: Intel Haswell-ULT Integrated Graphics Controller
           Card-2: NVIDIA Device 1292
           Display Server: X.Org 1.12.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1920x1080@60.0hz
           GLX Renderer: N/A GLX Version: N/A
Audio:     Card-1 Intel Lynx Point-LP HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Card-2 Intel Device 0a0c driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k3.16.0-0.bpo.4-amd64
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller
           driver: r8169
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: <filter>
           Card-2: Broadcom Device 43b1
           IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 1000.2GB (30.1% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_DT01ACA1 size: 1000.2GB
Snippet from boot/grub/grub.cfg under CrunchBang:

Code: Select all

### BEGIN etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'CrunchBang GNU/Linux, with Linux 3.16.0-0.bpo.4-amd64' --class crunchbang --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    load_video
    insmod gzio
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root [UUID redacted]
    echo    'Loading Linux 3.16.0-0.bpo.4-amd64 ...'
    linux    boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-0.bpo.4-amd64 root=UUID=[redacted] ro  quiet
    echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    initrd    boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-0.bpo.4-amd64
}
menuentry 'CrunchBang GNU/Linux, with Linux 3.16.0-0.bpo.4-amd64 (recovery mode)' --class crunchbang --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    load_video
    insmod gzio
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root [UUID redacted]
    echo    'Loading Linux 3.16.0-0.bpo.4-amd64 ...'
    linux    boot/vmlinuz-3.16.0-0.bpo.4-amd64 root=UUID=[redacted]
    echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    initrd    boot/initrd.img-3.16.0-0.bpo.4-amd64
}
menuentry 'CrunchBang GNU/Linux, with Linux 3.2.0-4-amd64' --class crunchbang --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    load_video
    insmod gzio
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root [redacted]
    echo    'Loading Linux 3.2.0-4-amd64 ...'
    linux    boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-4-amd64 root=UUID=[redacted] ro  quiet
    echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    initrd    boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-4-amd64
}
menuentry 'CrunchBang GNU/Linux, with Linux 3.2.0-4-amd64 (recovery mode)' --class crunchbang --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    load_video
    insmod gzio
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos1)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root [UUID redacted]
    echo    'Loading Linux 3.2.0-4-amd64 ...'
    linux    boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-4-amd64 root=UUID=[redacted] ro single 
    echo    'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
    initrd    boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-4-amd64
}
### END etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
menuentry"antiX-13.2, kernel 3.7.10-antix.5-amd64-smp (on dev/sda2)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root [UUID redacted]
    linux boot/vmlinuz-3.7.10-antix.5-amd64-smp root=UUID=[redacted] ro
    initrd boot/initrd.img-3.7.10-antix.5-amd64-smp
}
menuentry"antiX-13.2, kernel 3.7.10-antix.5-amd64-smp (init-3) (on dev/sda2)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root [UUID redacted]
    linux boot/vmlinuz-3.7.10-antix.5-amd64-smp root=UUID=[redacted] ro 3
    initrd boot/initrd.img-3.7.10-antix.5-amd64-smp
}
menuentry"antiX-13.2, kernel memtest86+ (on dev/sda2)" --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set root='(hd0,msdos2)'
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root [UUID redacted]
    linux boot/memtest86+.bin 
}
### END etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
Last edited by KrunchTime on 06 Mar 2015, 13:39, edited 1 time in total.
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#2
Are you hanging on the kernel 3.19 like you mentioned in your other thread or is the kernel stock.
What kernel are you booting?

/boot/grub/menu.lst from AntiX would be more useful in this thread than crunchbangs grub 2 stuff. Since crunchbang grub is working and passing off to AntiX legacy grub. Where the hangup occurs.

Mixing aptitude and apt in AntiX is just looking for trouble IMO. OK once. But not as a permanent thing.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#3
@roky- actually, I don't think Krunchtime is using antix's grub at all. He is booting directly from crunchbang's grub2.

***edit*** we do need to know which kernel though.

I think part of the clue is the dist-upgrade. i assume the boot worked fine before the dist-upgrade.

does the boot ever complete? does it freeze up around"populating udev" or some message like that?
rokytnji
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#4
@roky- actually, I don't think Krunchtime is using antix's grub at all. He is booting directly from crunchbang's grub2.
OK. Easy to get confused because chainloading and install AntiX grub to / and kernel 3.19 was mentioned in another thread pointing to here.
Posts: 850
fatmac
Joined: 26 Jul 2012
#5
antiX-13.2, kernel 3.7.10-antix.5-amd64-smp
That's what's in his grub config......
If I remember, wasn't there a problem with nvidia driver somewhere in 13.2(?).
Posts: 1,308
BitJam
Joined: 31 Aug 2009
#6
What's the last thing that happens before the boot hangs? If we know when it it hanging then we have a better shot at fixing it.
male
Posts: 325
male
Joined: 04 Nov 2011
#7
Correct would have been:

01) Fresh install of antiX 13-2 tracking Testing repo on sda2.
05) Booted CrunchBang (on sda1), dropped to terminal, ran sudo update-grub
06) Reboot > antiX 13.2 (!)
02) Performed dist-upgrade (!!)
03) Installed a few packages (aptitude, debfoster, popularity-contest)

In addition, the main bootloader is"very old"
Grub (v1.99) for CrunchBang is in the MBR and grub for antiX is in antiX root.
How old is os-prober?
Posts: 127
KrunchTime
Joined: 05 Dec 2014
#8
male wrote:Correct would have been:

01) Fresh install of antiX 13-2 tracking Testing repo on sda2.
05) Booted CrunchBang (on sda1), dropped to terminal, ran sudo update-grub
06) Reboot > antiX 13.2 (!)
02) Performed dist-upgrade (!!)
03) Installed a few packages (aptitude, debfoster, popularity-contest)

In addition, the main bootloader is"very old"
Grub (v1.99) for CrunchBang is in the MBR and grub for antiX is in antiX root.
How old is os-prober?
My apologies; you're correct. I did perform the sudo update-grub under CrunchBang before rebooting into antiX to perform the dist-upgrade. That's what happens when you stay up all night playing with Linux. __{{emoticon}}__

Grub v1.99 may be old, but it works and it's not complicated. I've dual booted CrunchBang and antiX (tracking testing) on two older laptops without any main issues.

os-prober is v1.58.

For the others, the kernel is 3.7.10 as shown in the snippet from grub.cfg.

@roky: Why is it not a good idea to mix use of apt and aptitude under antiX, or are you referring to antiX tracking Testing? In general, I prefer aptitude, but if Testing is like Sid/Unstable, I have no qualms about using apt for dist-upgrades.

@fatmac: There are no NVidia drivers installed.

@BitJam: The boot hangs at different points, so I didn't keep track. I can try again if you think it would be helpful. Are there any log contents that might be useful for troubleshooting? I am able to access the antiX partition from my CrunchBang partition.
Posts: 667
jdmeaux1952
Joined: 01 Nov 2013
#9
One thing I HAVE learned about having multiple distros on a HD is to do your update-grub on each extended partition before doing the update-grub on the main partition. [All of the distros I have been working with do use Synaptic (although there are a few where I stay in the terminal) which tends to do an automatic update-grub.] I too have fought with hanging at various spots on boot up, and found quite by accident that if I do the update-grub on the partition I am working in, and THEN at the main partition do an update-grub the hang would go away.

Right now I have 16 partitions on my HD with MX-14 as my main and antix on the next four (full, experimental, & custom) PLUS pure Debian (which I am trying to do what I want with) and a ew smaller distros of varied origin.
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#10
@roky: Why is it not a good idea to mix use of apt and aptitude under antiX, or are you referring to antiX tracking Testing? In general, I prefer aptitude, but if Testing is like Sid/Unstable, I have no qualms about using apt for dist-upgrades.
Personal experience over the years and
The difference is aptitude will by default remove packages that were automatically installed and apt-get does not.
And aptitude dependency resolver is not as robust as apt-gets.
Heck. I have a hard enough answering problems here with just using
apt-get. Using both just complicates things more. Use one or the other
and stick with that..
But not both together.

You asked. I answered. Just my opinion. Do what you wish.
It's your machine.
male
Posts: 325
male
Joined: 04 Nov 2011
#11
male wrote:How old is os-prober?
KrunchTime wrote:os-prober is v1.58.
I am not familiar with the package management CrunchBang.

If this system your main boot loader is then ...

os-prober is currently in v1.65
grub2 in v2.02 ~ beta2-20

os-prober had a lot of mistakes
Posts: 127
KrunchTime
Joined: 05 Dec 2014
#12
jdmeaux1952 wrote:One thing I HAVE learned about having multiple distros on a HD is to do your update-grub on each extended partition before doing the update-grub on the main partition. [All of the distros I have been working with do use Synaptic (although there are a few where I stay in the terminal) which tends to do an automatic update-grub.] I too have fought with hanging at various spots on boot up, and found quite by accident that if I do the update-grub on the partition I am working in, and THEN at the main partition do an update-grub the hang would go away.
Interesting...I thought that any new package install under an extended partition requiring a grub update automatically triggered the update. I've never had issues in the past just performing an update-grub only on the main partition. I guess it doesn't hurt to do it. So how did you get around the boot hang?

@rokytnji: I was using both because aptitude doesn't seem to remove all related packages when removing packages that come with an installed Linux distro. I discovered that apt-get will not remove related packages, but will tell you that such packages are no longer needed/required. I have read posts in other forums where users say it doesn't matter if you mix them as they use the same database. I did learn from the Siduction forums that it is better to use apt-get for Sid/Unstable because aptitude tries to be too smart sometimes and that can get you in trouble under Sid/Unstable.

@male: Package management under CrunchBang is the same as antiX as they are both based on Debian; apt, aptitude, dpkg, or synaptic. My main bootloader is under CrunchBang and is grub v1.99 and comes from the CrunchBang repo, so I guess Phil Newborough customized a version of grub for the distro.
Posts: 127
KrunchTime
Joined: 05 Dec 2014
#13
I decided to do a little bit of research on mixing apt and aptitude. The following links were informative and enlightening.


========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=55295"
linktext was:"http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=55295"
====================================



========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=55286"
linktext was:"http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=55286"
====================================



========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://raphaelhertzog.com/2011/06/20/apt-get-aptitude-%E2%80%A6-pick-the-right-debian-package-manager-for-you/"
linktext was:"http://raphaelhertzog.com/2011/06/20/ap ... r-for-you/"
====================================



========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://forums.solydxk.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3657"
linktext was:"http://forums.solydxk.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=3657"
====================================
Posts: 127
KrunchTime
Joined: 05 Dec 2014
#14
@jdmeaux1952: You were right. I re-installed antiX yet again about an hour ago.

01) Ran update-grub under antiX after the install
02) Rebooted into CrunchBang and ran update-grub
03) Rebooted into antiX, ran dist-upgrade, installed 3.18.6 image and header, ran update-grub.
04) Rebooted into CrunchBang and ran update-grub
05) Rebooted into antiX successfully with no hangs

Interesting...I've never had a problem in the past NOT running update-grub under additional distros in a multi-boot environment.

Edit 01: I just thought of something. There is something I haven't done yet on the antiX install that I've done in the past. I modify fstab to auto-mount a shared data partition. IMO that shouldn't cause an issue; never has under any other Linux installs I've done. I'm going to modify fstab on antiX and see what happens.

Edit 02: Still booting fine after setting up the shared partition.