BitJam
I was looking for a DE/WM to replace KDE-3 (I'm not a fan of KDE-4) and several people steered me to the Enlightenment WM. When I first fired it up, I was extremely underwhelmed. The default"winter" theme is perfectly bland and there were no background images available. The fonts were tiny and hard to read. But once I started playing around with it, I fell in love.

E16 (not the development version, e17) is small and fast and stable yet it is packed with wonderful features and is infinitely configurable. I've got two high resolution monitors that I normally use with NVidia's TwinView but I've been unable to get the NVidia drivers to work on antiX-8.5 so I thought I would give you all a peek at what e16 can look like at 1024x768. I think it could be the perfect DE/WM for netbooks or other systems with a smaller display.

The themes don't match the background images. That's because I used the bg images that came with antiX and haven't copied my 3550x1200 wallpapers over yet. Notice the vertical pager on the right hand side of the screen, seven boxes stacked on top of each other. It shows the background for each desktop and even shows you little pictures of each window. You can drag windows from desktop to desktop in the pager or even drag a window out of the pager into the current desktop. The size, orientation, and layout of the pager is totally configurable.

I'm planning to write a series of HOWTOs explaining how to install (easy) and configure (harder) e16. I've got another pic and e16 instructions in HTML to upload but it looks like I will have to put those in another post. If you want total control over every pixel and keypress and mouse action on your screen and if you're willing to edit text config files and learn a new system then e16 might be the right DE/WM for you.
E16 Settings Panel with NorthernDark theme
E16 Settings Panel with NorthernDark theme
lxpanel two terminal windows NorthernDark theme
lxpanel two terminal windows NorthernDark theme