tks4302
Good evening, all. I'm new to antiX and to using Linux in general. Installed antiX 8.2 over the weekend, looks good so far except:

1) I'm looking for the root password that allows me unrestricted access to my own machine. I did accurately copy down the one I needed to supply during the install process, but for some things it works (such as logging into the Synaptic Package Manager) and for some things that one doesn't work (such as trying to save a file I've edited outside of my home area /TKS4302).

2) I'm trying to do such an ignorant thing because I tried to install Kontact and Amarok via Synaptic, was told that it couldn't do so because of a couple of dependencies it needed that weren't going to be done (I think KDE runtimes was one of them, can't recall the others just now), so I believed that meant I needed to add one or more repositories to my list and try again --- as I said, I'm a newbie, figured I'd just go with it a bit and see where I landed). I added enough additional repositories (not knowing any better) that I'm now getting the following dialog when I try to access the repository list:

e: Dynamic MMap ran out of room. Please increase the size of APT::Cache-Limit. Current value: 20000000. (man 5 apt.conf)
E: Error occurred while processing lordsawar (NewVersion1)
E: Problem with MergeList /var/lib/apt/lists/
ftp.us.debian.org_debian_dists_unstable_main_binary-i386_Packages
E: The package lists or status file could not be parsed or opened.
E: _cache->open() failed, please report

I googled the APT::Cache-Limit phrase and soon found an article on how to fix this, which suggested upping the 20000000 to something larger to allow opening the list. So I began using the file management apps (RoxFiler and PCmanFM) trying to edit the referenced file, etc/apt/apt.conf.d/70debconf, and can't save the changes due to the above-mentioned inability to get the machine to believe that I am, in fact, its owner.