Silent Observer
I'm using my first wifi card, a PCMCIA connected D-Link DWA642 (802.11n, 300 Mb/s capable, running in my Gateway Solo 2500). As far as I can tell, the hardware is fine; the system can detect an ad hoc network I'm attempting to use, and the other computer involved (which has a wired internet connection being shared, at present, from Windows 7) can detect my own if I create one, but every time I try to connect to"robert" the connection fails to obtain an IP address. He can connect to his computer from his smartphone, so we believe his setup is correct.

Given seeming good hardware on both ends, I presume there's a setting amiss somewhere, but since I have no experience with wifi and the person whose computer I'm attempting to connect to has none with Linux, we're a little lost. Where should I lookin wicd, and for what settings?

Machine specs:

Code: Select all

System:    Host: (none) Kernel: 3.7.10-antix.5-486-smp i686 (32 bit, gcc: 4.8.1) 
           Desktop: Fluxbox 1.3.5 Distro: antiX-13.2_386-full Luddite 4 November 2013
Machine:   System: Gateway product: Solo2500 version: Rev 1
           Mobo: Gateway model: Solo2500 version: Rev 1.0 Bios: Gateway version: 10.09 date: 04/23/99
CPU:       Single core Celeron (Mendocino) (-UP-) cache: 128 KB flags: (pae) bmips: 601.38 clocked at 300.691 MHz 
Graphics:  Card: Neomagic NM2160 [MagicGraph 128XD] bus-ID: 00:02.0 
           X.Org: 1.14.3 drivers: neomagic (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1024x768@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: N/A GLX Version: N/A Direct Rendering: N/A
Network:   Card: Linksys 21x4x DEC-Tulip compatible 10/100 Ethernet driver: tulip ver: 1.1.15-NAPI port: 1800 bus-ID: 05:00.0
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: <filter>
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 16.0GB (20.5% used) 1: id: /dev/sda model: Name n/a size: 16.0GB 
Partition: ID: / size: 9.7G used: 3.1G (34%) fs: ext2 ID: swap-1 size: 1.07GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap