Posts: 84
nujinini
Joined: 05 Jun 2010
#1
Hello!

I was trying to mount my /dev/sda3 by using
# mount /dev/sda3 /media/flash
I click on the Home folder icon on the lower left side and then click at sda3 and I get this error message:
Error opening '/dev/sda3': Permission denied
Failed to mount '/dev/sda3': Permission denied
Please check '/dev/sda3' and the ntfs-3g binary permissions,
and the mounting user ID. More explanation is provided at

========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://ntfs-3g.org/support.html#unprivileged"
linktext was:"http://ntfs-3g.org/support.html#unprivileged"
====================================
Also not succesful in the antix Control Center > Disks > Mount Connected Devices > Click on /dev/sda3 and still it doesn't seem to mount. It would be giving me the same error above.

Am able to acces my files though using MC as root, after executing the mount command above.

May I ask what should I be doing so as to make the sda3 mount using Control Center or Home folder please?
root@(none):~# fdisk -l

Disk /dev/sda: 250.1 GB, 250059350016 bytes
255 heads, 63 sectors/track, 30401 cylinders
Units = cylinders of 16065 * 512 = 8225280 bytes
Disk identifier: 0xc5e3f820

Device Boot Start End Blocks Id System
/dev/sda1 * 1 1930 15502693+ 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda2 1931 15817 111547327+ 5 Extended
/dev/sda3 15818 29555 110350485 7 HPFS/NTFS
/dev/sda4 29556 30401 6795495 82 Linux swap / Solaris
/dev/sda5 9778 14512 38033856 83 Linux
/dev/sda6 3836 5224 11157111 83 Linux
/dev/sda7 5225 8475 26113626 83 Linux
/dev/sda8 14513 15817 10481663+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda9 1931 3835 15301849+ 83 Linux
/dev/sda10 8476 9777 10458283+ 83 Linux

Partition table entries are not in disk order
root@(none):~#


Thank you!
Posts: 1,228
secipolla
Joined: 15 Jun 2008
#2
Post here, please, the contents of /etc/fstab.
Maybe the mount point for it is /mnt/sda3 then you should use it instead of /media/flash. You could then also mount it by just browsing to /mnt/sda3 in ROX-Filer.
Also if you have upgraded PCManFM to 0.9.7, depending on the settings it will mount all volumes at its startup.
Posts: 84
nujinini
Joined: 05 Jun 2010
#3

Code: Select all

jun@(none):~$ su -
Password: 
root@(none):~# cat /etc/fstab
# Pluggable devices are handled by uDev, they are not in fstab
/dev/sda10 / ext3 defaults,noatime 1 1
/dev/sda4 swap swap sw,pri=1 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts mode=0622 0 0
# Dynamic entries below
/dev/sda1 /mnt/sda1 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda3 /mnt/sda3 ntfs-3g noauto,users,gid=users,dmask=002,fmask=113,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda5 /mnt/sda5 ext3 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda6 /mnt/sda6 ext4 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda7 /mnt/sda7 ext4 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda8 /mnt/sda8 ext4 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/sda9 /mnt/sda9 ext4 noauto,users,exec,relatime 0 0
/dev/cdrom /media/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,users,exec,ro 0 0
/dev/sr0 /media/cdrom udf,iso9660 noauto,users,exec,ro 0 0
root@(none):~#
Posts: 1,228
secipolla
Joined: 15 Jun 2008
#4
So you should mount it through
# mount /dev/sda3
or with the rox-filer.
Posts: 84
nujinini
Joined: 05 Jun 2010
#5

Code: Select all

jun@(none):~$ su -
Password: 
root@(none):~# mount /dev/sda3
root@(none):~#
Thank you secipolla! This worked. __{{emoticon}}__

Code: Select all

Also if you have upgraded PCManFM to 0.9.7, depending on the settings it will mount all volumes at its startup.
How do I do this please? I prefer to mount all volumes at startup if possible. Thanks!
Posts: 1,228
secipolla
Joined: 15 Jun 2008
#6
nujinini wrote:How do I do this please? I prefer to mount all volumes at startup if possible. Thanks!
It's already set like that. For you to know, the settings are under Edit > Preferences > Volume management.
Posts: 84
nujinini
Joined: 05 Jun 2010
#7
Thank you secipola.

Anyway, all the boxes in my volume management were all checked but the sda3 (Storage Bin) and sda1 (XP) are not mounting. Do you think it has something to do with it being formatted as ntfs?
I can mount sda3 by"# mount /dev/sda3".

I have a different result with /dev/sda1

Code: Select all

jun@(none):~$ su -
Password: 
root@(none):~# mount /dev/sda3
root@(none):~# mount /dev/sda1
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1,
       missing codepage or helper program, or other error
       In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
       dmesg | tail  or so

root@(none):~#
I checked my ntfs-3g already but it already installed.

Code: Select all

root@(none):~# apt-get install ntfs-3g
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree        
Reading state information... Done
ntfs-3g is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
root@(none):~# 
Posts: 1,228
secipolla
Joined: 15 Jun 2008
#8
In a system like antiX that doesn't have a full desktop environment and instead has a collection of lighter applications sometimes we have to use what works. So you see if you mount it from the command line or maybe try the ROX filer.
As for the error, try mounting again and following the error message's suggestion if it happens again
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1,
missing codepage or helper program, or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so
Posts: 84
nujinini
Joined: 05 Jun 2010
#9
secipolla wrote:In a system like antiX that doesn't have a full desktop environment and instead has a collection of lighter applications sometimes we have to use what works. So you see if you mount it from the command line or maybe try the ROX filer.
As for the error, try mounting again and following the error message's suggestion if it happens again
mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/sda1,
missing codepage or helper program, or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so
Ok thanks! __{{emoticon}}__