How do you keep the monitor from shutting off? The problem is, when the system goes idle, my monitor shuts off the starts flashing a warning about being out-of-range. My display is the correct resolution and size 1024x768@60Hz..
and I am running antiX-kdelite - upgraded to sid + full KDE.
topic title: Monitor Shutdown
-
Posts: 180
- Joined: 04 Dec 2007
-
Posts: 1,520
- Joined: 07 Oct 2007
#2
Take a look in a terminal with man xset. I believe the command would be
I thought kde had the functionality built in?
Code: Select all
xset -dpms -off
-
Posts: 180
- Joined: 04 Dec 2007
#3
Thanks Erie.
It says -off invalid option
I tried xset -dpms. Just went back to a command prompt. Was that what it was supposed to do?.
Now another question:
My xorg has correct settings..
1024x768_60Hz...
But the KDE/Control Center/Peripherals/Display has my refresh rate listed as 50Hz. Where does it get the info?
It says -off invalid option
I tried xset -dpms. Just went back to a command prompt. Was that what it was supposed to do?.
Now another question:
My xorg has correct settings..
1024x768_60Hz...
But the KDE/Control Center/Peripherals/Display has my refresh rate listed as 50Hz. Where does it get the info?
-
Posts: 180
- Joined: 04 Dec 2007
#4
Code: Select all
# nvidia-settings: X configuration file generated by nvidia-settings
# nvidia-settings: version 1.0 (buildmeister@builder63) Mon May 19 00:34:28 PDT 2008
# **********************************************************************
# Core Pointer's InputDevice section
# **********************************************************************
# **********************************************************************
# Monitor section
# **********************************************************************
# Any number of monitor sections may be present
# **********************************************************************
# Graphics device section
# **********************************************************************
# Any number of graphics device sections may be present
# **********************************************************************
# Screen sections.
# **********************************************************************
Section"ServerLayout"
# The Identifier line must be present
#InputDevice"Synaptics1""SendCoreEvents"
Identifier "Main Layout"
Screen 0 "Screen0" 0 0
InputDevice "Mouse1""CorePointer"
InputDevice "Keyboard1""CoreKeyboard"
EndSection
Section"Module"
Load "i2c"
Load "ddc"
Load "synaptics"
Load "vbe"
# Load "dri"
EndSection
Section"ServerFlags"
Option "AllowMouseOpenFail""true"
Option "Xinerama""0"
EndSection
Section"InputDevice"
#Option "MaxSpeed" "0.7"
#Option "MinSpeed" "0.18"
#Option "AccelFactor" "0.08"
#Option "TopEdge" "120"
#Option "LeftEdge" "120"
#Option "BottomEdge" "830"
#Option "RightEdge" "650"
#Option "FingerLow" "25"
#Option "FingerHigh" "30"
# MacBook touchpad
#Option "MaxTapTime" "180"
#Option "MaxTapMove" "220"
#Option "MaxDoubleTapTime" "180"
#Option "VertScrollDelta" "20"
#Option "HorizScrollDelta" "50"
#Option "TapButton2" "3"
#Option "TapButton3" "2"
#Option "VertTwoFingerScroll" "1"
# Do you keep moving the mouse while typing? Try this trick.
#synclient TouchpadOff=1 disable your synaptics touchpad
#synclient TouchpadOff=0 enable your synaptics touchpad
Identifier "Synaptics1"
Driver "synaptics"
Option "SendCoreEvents""true"
Option "Device""/dev/psaux"
Option "Protocol""auto-dev"
Option "HorizScrollDelta""0"
Option "SHMConfig""on"
# For ALPS/MacBook TouchPads
EndSection
Section"InputDevice"
#Option "XkbOptions" "lv3:rwin_switch"
Identifier "Keyboard1"
Driver "kbd"
Option "AutoRepeat""500 5"
Option "XkbModel""pc104"
Option "XkbLayout""us"
Option "XkbRules""xorg"
# Macintosh keyboard
EndSection
Section"InputDevice"
Identifier "Mouse1"
Driver "mouse"
Option "Device""/dev/psaux"
EndSection
Section"Monitor"
Identifier "Generic Monitor"
HorizSync 28.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 60.0 - 60.0
EndSection
Section"Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "Unknown"
ModelName "CRT-0"
HorizSync 28.0 - 80.0
VertRefresh 60.0 - 60.0
EndSection
Section"Device"
#Option"RenderAccel""on"
Identifier "VESA"
Driver "nvidia"
Option "XAANoOffscreenPixmaps"
#Option"BusType""PCI"
#Option"ColorTiling""on"
#Option"EnablePageFlip""on"
EndSection
Section"Device"
Identifier "Videocard0"
Driver "nvidia"
VendorName "NVIDIA Corporation"
BoardName "GeForce 8600 GT"
EndSection
Section"Screen"
# The Identifier, Device and Monitor lines must be present
Identifier "Screen 1"
Device "VESA"
Monitor "Generic Monitor"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals""true"
# The favoured Depth and/or Bpp may be specified here
SubSection "Display"
#Modes "1024x768""800x600""640x480"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 8
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
#Modes "1024x768""800x600""640x480"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 16
EndSubSection
SubSection "Display"
#Modes "1024x768""800x600""640x480"
Viewport 0 0
Depth 24
EndSubSection
EndSection
Section"Screen"
Identifier "Screen0"
Device "Videocard0"
Monitor "Monitor0"
DefaultDepth 24
Option "TwinView""0"
Option "TwinViewXineramaInfoOrder""CRT-0"
Option "metamodes""1024x768_60 +0+0"
EndSection
Section"Extensions"
Option "Composite""Enable"
EndSection
-
Posts: 1,520
- Joined: 07 Oct 2007
#5
Can you select your monitor or something close in kde control center? It looks like it's being seen as generic-vesa???? Try using the mepis xconfig.
The xset command you used should do it.
The xset command you used should do it.
-
Posts: 180
- Joined: 04 Dec 2007
#6
That xorg is actually a copy of the xorg generated by using the Nvidia-Settings manager and one generated from the Sabayon live CD. I was having trouble with antiX & Mepis after installing the Nvidia Driver. Both Mepis & antiX would boot up to only a black screen. I could not fix the xorg with mxconfig except to return it to xdrvr=fbdev. But the Sabayon live CD, you could enable the Nvidia driver and use Compiz-Fusion. So I got the idea to boot Sabayon live CD and enable the Nvidia driver, then make a copy of the xorg it generated to use with Mepis & antiX. That worked brilliantly at getting both Mepis antiX up on this PC and Compiz-Fusion working.
Except for the little problem as described with the different refresh rates. I just don't know where the system is getting that 50Hz refresh rate if the xorg says 60hz.
Except for the little problem as described with the different refresh rates. I just don't know where the system is getting that 50Hz refresh rate if the xorg says 60hz.
Last edited by TLeeNorris on 15 Jun 2008, 22:18, edited 1 time in total.
-
Posts: 180
- Joined: 04 Dec 2007
#7
If I try and run
that command seems to have been degraded as now it will not set up video or monitor, only the mouse.
Code: Select all
dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
-
Posts: 1,520
- Joined: 07 Oct 2007
#8
Did you install the driver with mepis xconfig or manually? I have not had good luck with mepis installing nvidia driver but when I install then manually no problem.
-
Posts: 180
- Joined: 04 Dec 2007
#9
I tried both ways. No luck either way getting to a gui. I had to go a round-bout way to get it up. I think it sets my resolution & refresh rates wrong. When I originally installed the driver, it booted me to a black screen, but since I have my system setup to auto-login, I could here KDE starting up, but the screen was black.
I tried to run the dpkg-reconfigure but it results in a VERY limited xorg.
I tried to run the dpkg-reconfigure but it results in a VERY limited xorg.
Code: Select all
Section"InputDevice"
Identifier "Generic Keyboard"
Driver "kbd"
Option "XkbRules" "xorg"
Option "XkbModel" "pc104"
Option "XkbLayout" "us"
EndSection
Section"InputDevice"
Identifier "Configured Mouse"
Driver "mouse"
EndSection
Section"Device"
Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection
Section"Monitor"
Identifier "Configured Monitor"
EndSection
Section"Screen"
Identifier "Default Screen"
Monitor "Configured Monitor"
EndSection
-
Posts: 180
- Joined: 04 Dec 2007
#10
Oh and that xset command seems to have fixed the screen from shutting off. Now I just have to remember to manually turn off my monitor before I get hit the hay. Thanks for that.
-
Posts: 1,520
- Joined: 07 Oct 2007
#11
Still puzzled by that xorg though.
-
Posts: 180
- Joined: 04 Dec 2007
#12
Well, its a Coretronics monitor I got from Dell like 4 years ago. I ordered a Dell system with a free upgrade to a 15' Flat Panel monitor and they sent me this one. Its not listed in the KDE control center. I have tried the generic LCD and generic 1024x768.Can you select your monitor or something close in kde control center?
-
Posts: 43
- Joined: 22 Dec 2009
#13
But it takes a lot longer than 3 minutes for the screen to go blank. What to do ?
Code: Select all
Section"ServerLayout"
Identifier "XFree86 Configured"
Screen 0 "aticonfig-Screen[0]-0" 0 0
InputDevice "Keyboard0""CoreKeyboard"
InputDevice "USB Mouse""CorePointer"
InputDevice "ALPS Touchpad""SendCoreEvents"
Option "OffTime""3"
Section"Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor0"
VendorName "unknown"
ModelName "unknown"
HorizSync 32.0 - 82.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS""true"
EndSection
Section"Monitor"
Identifier "Monitor1"
VendorName "unknown"
ModelName "unknown"
HorizSync 32.0 - 82.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS""true"
EndSection
Section"Monitor"
Identifier "ATIMonitor"
VendorName "unknown"
ModelName "unknown"
HorizSync 32.0 - 82.0
VertRefresh 50.0 - 75.0
Option "DPMS""true"
EndSection
Section"Monitor"
Identifier "aticonfig-Monitor[0]-0"
Option "VendorName""ATI Proprietary Driver"
Option "ModelName""Generic Autodetecting Monitor"
Option "DPMS""true"
EndSection
-
Posts: 1,228
- Joined: 15 Jun 2008
#14
Do you need to shutdown the monitor? Otherwise if a screensaver is enough a solution is to install xscreensaver and set it to run at session startup. Then to configure it:
Of course antiX may have a screensaver installed but I still didn't figure which in antiX 8.5-beta4
Code: Select all
xscreensaver-demo
-
Posts: 43
- Joined: 22 Dec 2009
#15
Don't use screensaver, only DPMS. Would like screen to go blank after 3 minutes of inactivity