Ninho
Hi ! New guy here ! Here's my question :

Put AntiX 16 on a USB key (using"Rufus"), but it hangs hard while (Syslinux? Grub2 ?) is drawing the graphic screen, the blue Earth and 7 stars, and the message"press F1 to get help" ... then hangs and has to be hard reset ! I'm sure the medium is good (boots fine from an even older machine). This seems to be a conflict with the SiS onboard graphics.

To try and resolve the conflict, I wish I could either specify a VESA graphics mode for booting or even boot in plain BIOS text mode until the linux kernel takes over.

Can you please guide me in editing the relevant config files on the USB ?
Unfortunately I have no experience using Syslinux/Grub2

This machine has an older AMD Athlon-XP class CPU (no SSE2, no 64-bit stuff) but I'm sure it's not an issue per se (and actually AntiX does boot and run the desktop and apps as expected, on this CPU in a VMware virtual machine, the hang is only when booting on"the bare metal" - so I'm reasonably affirmative the problem is with the integrated video and/or video BIOS. unfortunately I don't have a spare PCI or AGP video adapter that I could fit in here that might solve the issue magically... or not...)
BitJam
Ninho wrote:To try and resolve the conflict, I wish I could either specify a VESA graphics mode for booting or even boot in plain BIOS text mode until the linux kernel takes over.
Mount the live-usb. Rename the file /boot/syslinux/gfx-cpio to /boot/syslinux/gfx-cpio.xxx.

When you boot the live-usb, follow the instructions on the screen.

Edit: this recipe gives you a simple text menu showing you the available boot options.
Ninho
Hello BitJam !
BitJam wrote: Mount the live-usb. Rename the file /boot/syslinux/gfx-cpio to /boot/syslinux/gfx-cpio.xxx.
When you boot the live-usb, follow the instructions on the screen.
This recipe gives you a simple text menu showing you the available boot options.