Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#1
The wife set me up with a new Iphone. Here is what I did

I grabbed ifuse from Debian sid.
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"https://packages.debian.org/sid/i386/ifuse/download"
linktext was:"https://packages.debian.org/sid/i386/ifuse/download"
====================================

You can use gdebi, synaptic package manager, or dpkg -i command (root terminal user) to install it.

Code: Select all

dpkg -i  ifuse_1.1.2-0.1+b2_i386.deb
Make sure you are in where you downloaded ifuse deb before running the above command. If you download it to /home/your user name. No worries then.

I installed fuse using synaptic.
I am using

Code: Select all

harry@biker:~
$ inxi -S
System:    Host: biker Kernel: 3.19.1-antix.1-486-smp i686 (32 bit)
           Desktop: IceWM 1.3.8 Distro: antiX-13_386-full Luddite 01 June 2013
harry@biker:~
$ inxi -r
Repos:     Active apt sources in file: / etc/apt/sources.list.d/antix.list
           deb http://antix.daveserver.info/testing/ testing main
           Active apt sources in file: /  etc/apt/sources.list.d/debian.list
           deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free
           deb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free
           Active apt sources in file: / etc/apt/sources.list.d/various.list
           deb http://mozilla.debian.net/ experimental iceweasel-beta
           deb http://www.duinsoft.nl/pkg/ debs all

Code: Select all

harry@biker:~
$ apt-cache policy fuse
fuse:
  Installed: 2.9.3-15+b1
  Candidate: 2.9.3-15+b1
  Version table:
 *** 2.9.3-15+b1 0
        500 http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ testing/main i386 Packages
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
harry@biker:~
$ apt-cache policy ifuse
ifuse:
  Installed: 1.1.2-0.1+b2
  Candidate: 1.1.2-0.1+b2
  Version table:
 *** 1.1.2-0.1+b2 0
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
Rebooted.

as root in terminal

Code: Select all

mkdir /mnt/iphone
Plugged in iphone and turned it on and said"Yes, trust this computer"

check dmesg | tail after I had plugged phone in and turned it on

Code: Select all

$ dmesg | tail
[  391.216743] usb 4-4: USB disconnect, device number 2
[  391.240205] ipheth 4-4:4.2: Apple iPhone USB Ethernet now disconnected
[  399.900203] usb 4-4: new high-speed USB device number 6 using ehci-pci
[  400.035576] usb 4-4: New USB device found, idVendor=05ac, idProduct=12a8
[  400.035595] usb 4-4: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
[  400.035608] usb 4-4: Product: iPhone
[  400.035618] usb 4-4: Manufacturer: Apple Inc.
[  400.035629] usb 4-4: SerialNumber: b1460b1fecac7963901d5405bf30d7cea9d10c9d
[  400.173371] ipheth 4-4:4.2: Apple iPhone USB Ethernet device attached
[  400.297200] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
Mount the phone. I have to be root since /mnt permissions are set as root user anyways.

Code: Select all

harry@biker:~
$ sux
Password: 
bash: cannot set terminal process group (-1): Inappropriate ioctl for device
bash: no job control in this shell
root@biker:/home/harry#  ifuse /mnt/iphone
root@biker:/home/harry# ls /mnt/iphone
Books         DCIM    iTunes_Control    Photos          Purchases  Recordings
CloudAssets  Downloads    PhotoData    PhotoStreamsData  Radio
Image

Don't ask me how to get around in a Iphone. This is all virgin territory for me.
Just showing it is possible in AntiX is all.
You all will have to support each other as far as itunes or what ever else iphone related drm crap goes.
Cuz I have no clue.
I use my BlackBerry phone as a mp3/mp4 player and it is plug and play in AntiX.
Not as hard as a Iphone.
I am running the latest IOS8.2 on this phone by the way.

Happy Trailz, Rok
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#2
Oh, the

Code: Select all

fusermount -u /mnt/iphone
is the command to unmount the iphone in /mnt. It needs to be ran as root also.
Posts: 2,238
dolphin_oracle
Joined: 16 Dec 2007
#3
Does the phone camera area show up as regular storage without the ifuse stuff? My son's iphone 4 does.
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#4
dolphin_oracle wrote:Does the phone camera area show up as regular storage without the ifuse stuff? My son's iphone 4 does.
No. IOS 8.2 won't even mount D.O.
Posts: 667
jdmeaux1952
Joined: 01 Nov 2013
#5
The only thing I can observe with my iPhone is the"memory cache" for photos.