Posts: 89
Stuart O'mahony
Joined: 07 Mar 2010
#1
I am having some trouble installing Kdenlive without first having to install kde, so have decided to compile kdenlive, following instructions at this link (see Compiling libraries):


========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Kdenlive/Getting_and_installing"
linktext was:"http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Kdenlive/G ... installing"
====================================


I have made some decent progress, installing many of the prescribed development packages (or their latest Debian incarnation):

Code: Select all

kdelibs-dev kdelibs

libsamplerate         YES   libsamplerate0
libsamplerate-dev            YES
libogg                YES    libogg0
libogg-dev            YES    libogg-dev0
libvorbis             YES   libvorbis0a 
libvorbis-dev        YES
libdv                 YES    libdv4
libdv-dev            YES    libdv-dev4
ladspa-sdk            YES
libjack-dev            YES
sox                 YES
sox-dev            YES    libsox-dev
libxml2             YES
libxml2-dev            YES
libmad-dev            YES    libmad0-dev
swh-plugins            YES
libquicktime         YES    libquicktime1
libquicktime-dev            YES
libtheora             YES   libtheora0
libtheora-dev        YES
libavformat            likely
libswscale             likely
libswscale-dev        YES
I also require libmlt++1 and mlt, the latter of which I have compiled and installled (unnecessarily!); the former I grabbed the source (mlt++), as the binaries appear to be unavailable in the repositories. The libraries I am having trouble compiling.

There is a binary of kden available for kde3 (I am using kde3 libs!) that I tried installing, but dpkg complains 'mlt', ('mlt' has since been renamed 'melt' which is what I have), and its libs are not present, so fails to configure. Compilation brings me no greater success, as I have first to set 'unsermake' in my environment path (a downloaded binary using an earlier version of python that is used over 'make'), and then brings up a screen full of 'warning' errors.

I have found this previous post, but aptitude seems equally insistant I should install kde.

viewtopic.php?f=20&t=1032&hilit=kdenlive

What's the best way in achieving this task, and are there no .deb packages available anywhere for mlt&co?
Posts: 89
Stuart O'mahony
Joined: 07 Mar 2010
#2
Okay, so i've seen through searching that mlt++1 and libmlt1 are available via the stable debian-multimedia.org branch, and so have enabled this. Now i'm running in to dependency issues.

Code: Select all

 stuart@stuart:~$ sudo apt-get install libmlt++1
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
Some packages could not be installed. This may mean that you have
requested an impossible situation or if you are using the unstable
distribution that some required packages have not yet been created
or been moved out of Incoming.
The following information may help to resolve the situation:

The following packages have unmet dependencies:
  libmlt++1: Depends: libmlt1 (>= 1:0.3.0) but it is not going to be installed
E: Broken packages
stuart@stuart:~$
Here's my sources.lst:

Code: Select all

# Mepis 8 series. Only use for kernel upgrades.
# deb ftp://ftp.mepis.com/mepis/ mepis-8.5 main 
deb http://fr1.mepis-deb.org/mepis/ mepis-8.0 main 
# Debian
# deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stable main contrib non-free 
#OFFdeb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ testing main contrib non-free 
#OFFdeb http://security.debian.org/ testing/updates main contrib non-free 
# deb-src http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ stable main contrib non-free 

# mplayer
 deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org/ stable main 
# deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org/ testing main 

# Goggles music manager
deb http://apt.progchild.de/ stable main 

# Mepis Community Main, Restricted, and Test Repos
# deb http://main.mepis-deb.org/mepiscr/repo/ mepis8cr main non-free 
# deb http://restricted.mepis-deb.org/mepiscr/repo/ mepis8cr restricted restricted-non-free 
# deb http://main.mepis-deb.org/mepiscr/testrepo/ mepis8cr test 
# deb http://restricted.mepis-deb.org/mepiscr/testrepo/ mepis8cr test-restricted  

# opera
# deb http://deb.opera.com/opera/ lenny non-free 

# virtualbox
# deb http://download.virtualbox.org/virtualbox/debian/ lenny non-free 

# liquorix kernels
# deb http://liquorix.net/debian/ sid main 

# Remastersys Lenny
deb http://www.geekconnection.org/remastersys/repository debian/

###### Debian Unstable/Sid##########
########
########
###### Use at your own risk! ########
# deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free 
# deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org/ unstable main 

#Kdenlive#
#deb-src http://ftp.fr.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free
#deb http://ftp.fr.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free

#Marillat multimedia#
#deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org sid main
#deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org testing main
There is a non-free lenny stable branch at /
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.debian-multimedia.org"
linktext was:"www.debian-multimedia.org"
====================================
, should I try enabling this?
Posts: 4,164
rokytnji
Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#3
The following packages have unmet dependencies:
libmlt++1: Depends: libmlt1 (>= 1:0.3.0) but it is not going to be installed
E: Broken packages
It's telling you it needs a newer libmit package. When I have ran into this type of problem. And I am not saying this is the right thing to do. But I do it any ways.

I enable

Code: Select all

###### Debian Unstable/Sid##########
################
###### Use at your own risk! ########
# deb http://ftp.us.debian.org/debian/ unstable main contrib non-free
# deb http://www.debian-multimedia.org/ unstable main 
Then run a apt-get update before I run apt-get install (whatever needs that dependancy)

Beofre that though I run after apt-get update after enabling sid repos.
In your case I would run

Code: Select all

apt-cache policy libmit ++1
and see if version 1 shows up first before running apt-get install libmit ++1.

I would then comment out Sid repos again and run apt-get update again to reset things. This works for me in sticky dependency and broken package situations. Like I said. It may not be the right thing to do. So take what I say with a grain of salt.
Posts: 89
Stuart O'mahony
Joined: 07 Mar 2010
#4
'apt-cache policy' is just the command i've been wanting to use for ages - thanks roky!

The dependency version of libmlt1 requested by ++1 is contained within the same stable repo, so it's my guess that some where along the dependency chain it becomes untenable that libmlt1 be used, and hence libmlt++1.

I'd have thought the same as you, but look:

Code: Select all

stuart@stuart:~$ apt-cache policy libmlt++1 libmlt1 | grep 1
libmlt++1:
  Candidate: 1:0.3.0-0.0
     1:0.3.0-0.0 0
        100 /var/lib/dpkg/status
libmlt1:
  Candidate: 1:0.3.0-0.1
     1:0.3.0-0.1 0
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#5
You don't seem to have any of the Debian repos enabled.
First try with stable enabled and if there is a problem, try with Debian testing enabled.
Posts: 89
Stuart O'mahony
Joined: 07 Mar 2010
#6
Same story.

Am I right in thinking that the missing deps are elsewhere down 'the chain', given mlt1 and mlt++1 match version-wise?
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#7
I think you need libmlt++3
Can you do an apt-get install melt libmlt++3
Posts: 89
Stuart O'mahony
Joined: 07 Mar 2010
#8
That's already installed.
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#9
I know you don't really want kde, but what about.

apt-get install kdenlive --no-install-recommends
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#10
You will need to use the testing or squeeze repos
Posts: 89
Stuart O'mahony
Joined: 07 Mar 2010
#11
Hmm... you mean me to avoid the five packages listed here:

Code: Select all

Recommended packages:
  virtuoso-minimal kaboom frei0r-plugins recordmydesktop dvdauthor
The following NEW packages will be installed:
  kdebase-runtime kdebase-runtime-data kdelibs-bin kdelibs5-data
  kdelibs5-plugins
I'm afraid I don't like this solution much. Sorry.
Stuart O'mahony
Posts: 89
Stuart O'mahony
Joined: 07 Mar 2010
#12
I get the above solution whether I go testing, or unstable. Stable has the old, 0.5 version of kdenlive which likes the 3.5 kdelibs - and therefore doesn't need kdebase - but throws a fit with mlt++1.