Posts: 251
JawsThemeSwimming428
Joined: 16 Mar 2008
#1
I just installed antiX M7.2 in Virtualbox. Everything went smooth as usual, however the Fluxbox Menu is still the one from the LiveCD. I still have the"Install" menu option. I am trying to edit the Fluxbox menu as it says in the antiX FAQ (
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://antix.mepis.org/index.php/Fluxbox_Tips_and_Tricks_Edit_Fluxbox_Menu"
linktext was:"http://antix.mepis.org/index.php/Fluxbo ... uxbox_Menu"
====================================
) but I do not have that option either. Any solution for this?
Posts: 1,520
eriefisher
Joined: 07 Oct 2007
#2
The install option can be removed from the menu. I don't think Anti has figured out how to script it out once installed. You could apt-get remove minstall.

To edit the menu open a run dialog from the menu and enter:

Code: Select all

leafpad /home/username/.flubox/menu
Edit away, save and close. Enjoy.
Posts: 609
dark-D
Joined: 02 Jun 2008
#3
if we have antix installed on a usb stick and the install button it's still there we can install antix on someone computer right?
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#4
You can do this as long as the antiX on the usb stick is a 'livecd', not installed as if to a hardrive, ICE-M.
Posts: 609
dark-D
Joined: 02 Jun 2008
#5
thank you anti i'll wait for the livecd script to be ready, to make a livecd of my install. so i guess we need to let install button in fluxbox.
Posts: 251
JawsThemeSwimming428
Joined: 16 Mar 2008
#6
eriefisher wrote:The install option can be removed from the menu. I don't think Anti has figured out how to script it out once installed. You could apt-get remove minstall.

To edit the menu open a run dialog from the menu and enter:

Code: Select all

leafpad /home/username/.flubox/menu
Edit away, save and close. Enjoy.
Thanks erie
Posts: 452
Jerry
Joined: 12 Sep 2007
#7
eriefisher wrote: I don't think Anti has figured out how to script it out once installed.
I've thought about that a bit and have this question: couldn't he dupe the menu, take out the install item, and put it into a different location for installation? Maybe not possible, given that the installer is closed code.
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#8
I think it is possible to do. I think it will have to be something like how the slim login dialog box changes once installed.

This is part of the script:

if ["$OS_MODE" ="HDD" ]
then
(lots of options)
if [ -e"$LOC/panel-install.png" ]
then
echo"Updating the log-in panel artwork."
mv $LOC/panel-install.png $LOC/panel.png
fi

So I guess if I add something like
if [ -e"$LOC/menu" ]
then
echo"Updating the fluxbox menu."
mv $LOC/menu-install $LOC/menu

LOC=~/.fluxbox

Does that seem ok?

I'm still very much a noob when it comes to scripting.
Posts: 452
Jerry
Joined: 12 Sep 2007
#9
(tee-hee) I certainly hope you are not asking ME!! I am below your level when it comes to scripts, so I hope somebody who actually knows something about all this will jump in.
Posts: 452
Jerry
Joined: 12 Sep 2007
#10
<giggles> I certainly hope you are not asking ME!! I am below your level when it comes to scripts, so I hope somebody who actually knows something about all this will jump in.
Posts: 1,081
OU812
Joined: 29 Sep 2007
#11
It seems ok to me, as long as you close off your if statement...

Code: Select all

if [ -e"$LOC/menu" ] ; then
   echo"Updating the fluxbox menu."
   mv $LOC/menu-install $LOC/menu 
fi
Give it a try. (I changed the look of the code a little bit. I think it makes it a bit more readable.)

john
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#12
This didn't work.

The problem is moving the fluxbox menu-install file to /home/USERNAME/.fluxbox.

LOC=/usr/share/fluxbox
if [ -e"$LOC/menu-install" ] ; then
echo"Updating the fluxbox menu."
mv $LOC/menu-install /home/$USER/.fluxbox
fi

Any ideas anyone?