I am trying to connect to an ad-hoc network on my Raspberry Pi. I can connect with my Nexus 7.
On my AntiX machine, I normally use Wicd 1.7.2.4. to connect.
On the Pi, I do a tcpdump port 67/68 and follow the dhcp log.
On AntiX, using the wicd gui I click on connect. I see no traffic from the connecting machine on the Pi.
Next I stop wicd and try ceni. Still no traffic on port 67/68 of Pi and no message from the AntiX machine in the dhcpd logs.
Next I stop wpa_supplicant and try iwconfig and dhclient to set and connect to the Pi still no traffic or log messages.
Is there something I am missing. I have no problem connecting to my cable modem. Do I need to do something special for an ad-hoc network?
topic title: Connecting to ad-hoc network on Antix 15/jessie
6 posts
• Page 1 of 1
-
Posts: 4
- Joined: 28 Aug 2015
-
Posts: 4,164
- Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#2
Give us a
report from terminal so we can see what is hooked up to your PI.
Howdy and Welcome to the AntiX. Which is just Debian with some scripts and tweaks.
Code: Select all
inxi -F
Howdy and Welcome to the AntiX. Which is just Debian with some scripts and tweaks.
-
Posts: 4
- Joined: 28 Aug 2015
#3
and
Code: Select all
inxi -F:
System: Host: pi-bat0 Kernel: 4.1.7+ armv6l (32 bit) Console: tty 0
Distro: Raspbian GNU/Linux 8
Machine: No /sys/class/dmi, using dmidecode: no machine data available
CPU: Single core ARMv6-compatible rev 7 (v6l) (-UP-) (ARM) clocked at 900 MHz
Graphics: Card: Failed to Detect Video Card!
Display Server: X.org 1.16.4 driver: N/A
tty size: 91x20 Advanced Data: N/A for root out of X
Audio: Card bcm2835 ALSA driver: bcm2835 Sound: ALSA v: k4.1.7+
Network: Card-1: Atheros AR9271 802.11n
IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
Card-2: Ralink RT5370 Wireless Adapter
IF: N/A state: N/A mac: N/A
Card-3: Standard Microsystems SMSC9512/9514 Fast Ethernet Adapter
IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Partition: ID-1: / size: 3.6G used: 2.9G (81%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/root
ID-2: /boot size: 56M used: 20M (35%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/mmcblk0p1
Sensors: None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info: Processes: 77 Uptime: 1 min Memory: 50.8/482.2MB Init: systemd
Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.1.28
Code: Select all
System: Host: itzy Kernel: 4.2.1-antix.2-amd64-smp x86_64 (64 bit)
Desktop: IceWM 1.3.10.16 Distro: antiX-15-V_x64-full Killah P 30 June 2015
Machine: System: Dell product: Latitude E4300 serial: 7BTW5L1
Mobo: Dell model: 0J795R serial: .7BTW5L1.CN129600244334.
Bios: Dell v: A24 date: 12/06/2011
CPU: Dual core Intel Core2 Duo P9600 (-MCP-) cache: 6144 KB
clock speeds: max: 2535 MHz 1: 1600 MHz 2: 1600 MHz
Graphics: Card: Intel Mobile 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller
Display Server: X.org 1.17.2 driver: intel
tty size: 91x20 Advanced Data: N/A for root
Audio: Card Intel 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel
Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.2.1-antix.2-amd64-smp
Network: Card-1: Intel 82567LM Gigabit Network Connection driver: e1000e
IF: eth0 state: down mac: 00:26:b9:aa:58:8a
Card-2: Broadcom BCM4322 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller
driver: b43-pci-bridge
IF: wlan0 state: up mac: 00:24:2c:a0:a7:7a
Drives: HDD Total Size: 80.0GB (68.3% used)
ID-1: /dev/sda model: WDC_WD800BJKT size: 80.0GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 9.5G used: 5.1G (56%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
ID-2: /home size: 64G used: 46G (77%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda5
Sensors: System Temperatures: cpu: 54.0C mobo: N/A
Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info: Processes: 133 Uptime: 6:58 Memory: 982.7/3908.0MB
Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.2.25
-
Posts: 4,164
- Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#4
Edit your apt sources.list.
antix control center>System>Edit Config Files>debian.list
uncomment #< remove pound sign with backspace
deb-src http://<your country debian server is here/debian/ jessie main contrib non-free
You want the non-free server for a non-free firmware download.
Save it and close geany.
[
reboot to be on the safe side with your ralink usb inserted.
hopefully you will see a wireless access point now like wlan0, eth1 or eth2 etc.......
Put that in wicd preferences though wicd will already have wlan0 in wireless preferences so no need if wlan0 is what ifnconfig -a already shows wlan0..
Hit refresh in wicd. I hope I got it. If not. Give
and
to make sure firmware install went ok
If it spits nothing out. You should be OK. But to double check
should say something ike installed.
When done and everything is working. If me. I would comment out again the non-free repo in sources.list until needed again to keep dist-upgrades and updates simpler. But it is your PI. So up to you.
Good Luck with it.
antix control center>System>Edit Config Files>debian.list
uncomment #< remove pound sign with backspace
deb-src http://<your country debian server is here/debian/ jessie main contrib non-free
You want the non-free server for a non-free firmware download.
Save it and close geany.
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get update
Code: Select all
sudo apt-get install firmware-ralink
Code: Select all
sudo ifconfig -a
Put that in wicd preferences though wicd will already have wlan0 in wireless preferences so no need if wlan0 is what ifnconfig -a already shows wlan0..
Hit refresh in wicd. I hope I got it. If not. Give
Code: Select all
lsusb | grep ralink
Code: Select all
lsusb | grep -i wireless
Code: Select all
dmesg | grep firmware
Code: Select all
apt-cache policy firmware-ralink
When done and everything is working. If me. I would comment out again the non-free repo in sources.list until needed again to keep dist-upgrades and updates simpler. But it is your PI. So up to you.
Good Luck with it.
-
Posts: 4,164
- Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#5
Try posting terminal readouts in code tags. In the fast reply box. Hit the full editor button.
Now look at the code button in the toolbar. Hit it.
Paste terminal readouts between the code brackets. It makes things easier to read and preserves terminal format.
Just info for later on. I fixed your previous post.
Now look at the code button in the toolbar. Hit it.
Paste terminal readouts between the code brackets. It makes things easier to read and preserves terminal format.
Just info for later on. I fixed your previous post.
-
Posts: 4,164
- Joined: 20 Feb 2009
#6
Shucks. I am confused. Your AntiX braodcom chip box already has wifi up.
Your PI is not running AntiX at all. So my post for antixcc is moot/irrelevant for the PI.
Someone else needs to figure out what you need I guess. For some reason. When I read your PI inxi readout.
I concentrated on the N/A/not up, for ralink and locked in on that thinking how I would fix that in AntiX.
Is your wifi usb working on the PI? If so. Disregard my post.
Sorry, Long day and I am bushed.
I was thinking of deleting my posts but it won't hurt to leave them be in case there is something relevant.
Your PI is not running AntiX at all. So my post for antixcc is moot/irrelevant for the PI.
Someone else needs to figure out what you need I guess. For some reason. When I read your PI inxi readout.
I concentrated on the N/A/not up, for ralink and locked in on that thinking how I would fix that in AntiX.
Is your wifi usb working on the PI? If so. Disregard my post.
Sorry, Long day and I am bushed.
I was thinking of deleting my posts but it won't hurt to leave them be in case there is something relevant.