santotomas
I am one of those people who still uses floppies (the 1.44 MB kind). I have a lot of data saved up on them from years of technical research and I was so glad that this Antix distro has enabled me to use my floppy drive flawlessly. Of course, I had to learn how to mount and unmount but other than that I've been using my floppies on this Linux machine for the past 6 months, no problem. UNTIL today! I get this error message when I try to mount any floppy:

Run: Mount/dev/fd0

Progress bar here-----

udevil: error 63: no media in device /dev/fd0 (or specify type with -t)

I don't get that message when I'm using other media types like a CD or my USB's.

My Antix version is Antix 13.2 stable. And I use the SpaceFM file manager, BTW.

Please help as I have a lot of data that I need to access. I just hope this is just a temporary thing and that it is fixable.
fatmac
Try from the command line;
sudo mount /dev/fd0 -t vfat /mnt
or
sudo mount /dev/fd0 -t msdos /mnt
then see what is on them with;
ls /mnt

If that works OK, it is just something to do with the SpaceFM configs.
santotomas
FatMac

Thank you for this general solution. Although not ideal since I can no longer mount or unmount from SpaceFM, it is OK for now. I do get to see and work with documents I already have on my floppies. From Paul Sheer's tutorial I also learned the unmount command to close my floppies safely: umount /dev/fd0. My question now is for the NEW documents I might want to add to the floppies. When I go to Save As, I cannot find the fd0 (floppy drive) to save it. So, I wind up saving to desktop. Any way to save new files to my floppies? Also, is there any way of removing the error 63 that it keeps alerting me to? It would be so cool to get the full use of SpaceFM with regards to my floppies back.

Again, thank you for your prompt help.
fatmac
OK, that was to see/let you know your data is still there. __{{emoticon}}__