brightwood83
Hi all! I've been using Linux for over 20 years now, but this is my first experience with a Debian-based distro. I started out with Slackware in the early 90s and since then it's been variations on a theme of Redhat. So I'm admittedly a little clueless about the APT packaging system.

Today I successfully installed the x64 version of antix-13.2 Luddite on my Dell Latitude D620, and it seems to be running nicely. But I'd like to connect my Dell Bluetooth Travel mouse so I don't have to deal with the touchpad. The bluetooth service is enabled and running, and"hcitool scan" and"hcitool inq" are able to see and report on the mouse. But to actually connect the mouse, from all of the documentation I've seen, I need a tool called hidd, which does not appear to be installed.

Seems hid is part of a package called bluez-utils, but when I try to"apt-get install bluez-utils" I get a message that"Package bluez-utils is not available, but is referred to by another package." and further down"However the following packages replace it: bluez". Problem is bluez is already installed, but hidd is still missing. Is there any repo I can get this thing from?

dpkg-query reports that version 4.99-2 is currently installed. (Came with the distro.)
brightwood83
Even stranger, the web interface to the Wheezy repository says it's there:

========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"https://packages.debian.org/wheezy/admin/bluez-utils"
linktext was:"https://packages.debian.org/wheezy/admin/bluez-utils"
====================================

So why is apt-get not getting it?
fatmac
Did you do 'apt-get update' before trying to install the app?
thriftee
The bluez package appears to have replaced bluez-utils.

The documentation you are looking at is old from what i can find.

Go look at unix.stackexchange.com/questions/42526/how-to-get-my-bluetooth-keyboard-to-be-recognized-before-login

down near the end of the script it runs the programs:

bluez-simple-agent