Posts: 24
peasthope
Joined: 27 Nov 2015
#1
Booting from the antiX-15-V_386-full.iso was attempted
with this stanza in / etc/grub.d/40_custom,

menuentry"(hd0,msdos1) antiX" {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos1'
echo 'Loading antiX-15-V_386-full.iso ...'
linux /boot/vmlinuz from=cd root=UUID=ae5f8bf4-b2a2-4b10-8da2-922d9f4e6e91 ro findiso=antiX-15-V_386-full.iso load=all reboot=bios quiet
echo 'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
initrd / etc/boot/initrd.gz
}

and the following result. ("/etc" typed"/ etc" to compensate for bug in forum software.)

Welcome to i686 antiX 15-V (Killah P)!
Current boot codes:
BOOT_IMAGE=/boot/vmlinuz from=cd root=UUID=ae5f8bf4-b2a2-4b10-8da2-922d9f4e
6e91 ro findiso=antiX-15-V_386-full.iso load=all reboot=bios quiet

Possibly unknown or misspelled boot codes:
(don't take this too seriously)
findiso=antiX-15-V_386-full.iso

Loading hardware specific modules ...
Loading all modules
Scan cd devices. Look for boot file(s) antiX/linuxfs
Retry for 10 seconds ...................
Fatal Error
No cd devices found

p = power off
r = reboot
Select p or r then press <enter>

Suggestions? Tips? Thanks, ... Peter E.

Incidentally,

========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://antix.mepis.org/index.php?title=Installation_Tips"
linktext was:"http://antix.mepis.org/index.php?title= ... ation_Tips"
====================================

appears to refer to Grub 1 whereas Debian stable has used
Grub 2 for more than a year.
Posts: 34
koolstofje
Joined: 07 Nov 2015
#2
I have the same problem with my new computer
Posts: 3
dzz
Joined: 29 Dec 2015
#3
This is what works here. Edit paths and partition reference to suit your setup.

Code: Select all

menuentry"antiX ISO Boot" {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set isofile='(hd0,msdos1)/home/dzz/Desktop/antix/antiX-15.1-a1-V_x64-base.iso'
    loopback loop $isofile
    linux (loop)/antiX/vmlinuz from=hd fromiso=/home/dzz/Desktop/antix/antiX-15.1-a1-V_x64-base.iso
    initrd (loop)/antiX/initrd.gz
}
Posts: 34
koolstofje
Joined: 07 Nov 2015
#4
dzz wrote:This is what works here. Edit paths and partition reference to suit your setup.

Code: Select all

menuentry"antiX ISO Boot" {
    insmod part_msdos
    insmod ext2
    set isofile='(hd0,msdos1)/home/dzz/Desktop/antix/antiX-15.1-a1-V_x64-base.iso'
    loopback loop $isofile
    linux (loop)/antiX/vmlinuz from=hd fromiso=/home/dzz/Desktop/antix/antiX-15.1-a1-V_x64-base.iso
    initrd (loop)/antiX/initrd.gz
}
and now?
Posts: 3
dzz
Joined: 29 Dec 2015
#5
and now?
Open your installation's / etc/grub.d/40_custom in a root text editor, append that code chunk, save it, then do update-grub in a root shell. Next reboot,"antiX ISO Boot" should be listed in grub's menu.

The same method (with appropriate boot parameters) works for any other debian-type live iso.
Posts: 34
koolstofje
Joined: 07 Nov 2015
#6
Thank you .. dzz .. !!
Posts: 24
peasthope
Joined: 27 Nov 2015
#7
At Wed Dec 30, 2015 3:45 am, dzz wrote,
> This is what works here. Edit paths and partition reference to suit your setup.

Thanks."from=cd" was the crucial error in my menuentry.
With"from=hd" grub suceeded. It works without creating
a loop device.

According to the grub manual section for the linux command,
"from" and"fromiso" must be kernel parameters. I haven't
found them described in that context. Recent additions to
the kernel?

Thanks for the help, ... Peter E.
Posts: 24
peasthope
Joined: 27 Nov 2015
#8
Installation by the fromiso method to the Tatung TWN-5213 CU tablet succeeded. The machine has a Geode cpu. A photo has been added here.

========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AntiX#Versions"
linktext was:"https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AntiX#Versions"
====================================
.

Thanks for the help, ... Peter E.