topic title: Battery monitor
red devil
I'm loving antiX M7.2 but I'm new to Fluxbox and wondered if there's any way of getting a graphical display/applet showing the battery level in my Inspiron laptop.
I know it's possible to add a battery monitor to Conky, but I'd prefer something that sits on the panel or the bar along the bottom.
Thanks in advance.
sleepyEDB
Bump!

I too would like to have a system tray battery monitor so I can see it when I've got GUI apps open fullscreen. I've been Googling around a bit for something that won't require me to install half of KDE or Gnome in libraries, but haven't found much. I'll keep looking, but figured if anyone knew, this would be the place to ask. __{{emoticon}}__

sleepy
eriefisher
xbattbar-acpi

It puts a thin bar at the bottom of your screen. Green if plugged and turns red and shrinks if on battery to show use.
sleepyEDB
Thanks erie!

I've installed it and it's running, but something's a bit off. The bar is orange, and when I mouse over it, the text says 'no battery'...but when I pull out the power cord, the laptop stays on and the screen dims, etc.

The BIOS says that the battery needs to be calibrated, so I'll try that overnight tonight and see if it helps.

sleepy
OU812
You could try installing"gnome-power-manager" from the repos. It does pull in a modest amount of depends, though. Here's a link:

========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.gnome.org/projects/gnome-power-manager/"
linktext was:"http://www.gnome.org/projects/gnome-power-manager/"
====================================
" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false

john
sleepyEDB
Thanks OU812!

I've installed gnome-power-manager, and it is working great. It only pulled in about 5 or 6 other gnome packages which isn't too bad since monitoring battery life is kind of important on a laptop. __{{emoticon}}__

erie-