B/G/N wifi connects only at 54 Mb/s

Silent Observer
I've got an Atheros chipset PCMCIA wifi card in my Pentium II laptop (antiX 13.2 testing, kept updated weekly), which I've been using pretty happily for several months with a hotspot running on my second desktop machine (connecting a USB wifi dongle to the wired network with a software bridge); I recently upgraded to a genuine N router due to my old wired router failing -- it was resetting every minute or so. The wifi signal from the new (Chinese made) Phicomm router is significantly stronger; I'm now getting -55 dB where I used to see -69 to -75 reported on the laptop, but I still don't see reported connection at 150 Mb/s from the laptop. Is there a setting I need to tweak in antiX to get full connection speed, or is it a setting in the router (other wifi devices in the house aren't as accessible to me as the laptop -- two Playstation PSP-Go devices, and a roomer's laptop -- so I'm not sure if it's the router or the laptop at"fault") -- or should I look elsewhere for the trouble?

Not critical, since the connection speed available is still above my Internet connection of 30 Mb/s, but I'm concerned it indicates something else isn't working right...
rokytnji
If anything in the house is running wireless g. The router defaults to that.
Hence the 54MB speed. Also your ISP provider needs to supply your needed speeds.

Mine comes in through phone line so mine is limited vs having a fiber optic hookup.
The boondocks are cave man isp hookups.

I don't think AntiX has anything to do with your pcmcia n speeds. I run a
SMCWCB-N2 EZ 2.4GHz 300Mbps Wireless N Pro Cardbus WiFi Adapter
myself and it runs OK on free wifi hotspots.
dolphin_oracle
@roky,

actually on the wireless speeds, that used to be true with"b" speeds, but"n" is supposed to coexist with"g". that's not saying individual hardware might have issues.

stupid question : is the pcmcia device also an"n" device, or is it g/b?
rokytnji