cwilliams
I've been running an older version of antiX on my current system with great success .
My current system is a P4 2.4GHz , 4GB ddr333 , nvidia geforce 6200 512MB card.
I have ordered , a new mobo , i5-4570s , 8GB ddr3 1600 ram with onboard Intel HD4600 graphics.
My question is , should I use antiX-13.1_x64-full.iso for this new machine.
I am new to the 64 bit OS side of things , so any recommendations would be welcome.
Should I go with the testing repos this time , my current system uses wheezy.
Thanks a bunch , I usually get my answers here , and don't post much as there are far smarter people than me to give great answers.
Colin
BitJam
What make/model is the new motherboard? AntiX does not have a UEFI compatible installer so if your mb is UEFI enabled then you will have to use legacy mode.

I think you should use a 64-bit kernel.

I can't answer your question about using the testing repo.
cwilliams
Good question , I don't know about that , I'll find out though.
The Board is a MSI H87-G43
========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813130697"
linktext was:"http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813130697"
====================================

It looked like it would have some cool features and be really fast compared to my current machine.
Thanks for the reply , I'll check .......
Colin
cwilliams
Ok , I figured it out , if installing windows (first) it formats the drive with a GPT format setup.
Linux wants to boot from a MBR format instead , so the disk would be messed up by windows first.
Apparently if you only install Linux , like I do , and always partition the disk before an install as an MBR system , there would be no problem even with EFI enabled.
Legacy mode would be fine though if the need arises.