AntiX On New (Fast) Hardware - Opinions?

4evrplan
Hello beautiful AntiX community! I've been away for so long. I switched to Windows because I didn't want to live without Netflix, but a new era has dawned, more and more Windows software is available on Linux every day, and I've decided it's time to really dig in and learn the nuts and bolts of it. So... I'm back!

I'll be installing a VM on my work computer to learn on, a core i5 machine running Win 7 64 with 4GB of RAM. My work is such that I have considerable in-between time for"personal development"/"continued education"/whatever-you-want-to-call-it, and since I'm a computer technician and a programmer, learning Linux fits in nicely. I'll be trying to mirror as much as possible, the functionality in my Windows install and see if it's possible to do my job completely from within the VM. If I hit a wall, I'll simply minimize the VM and quickly do what I need to do from Windows. I figure this will be a great way to learn.

Okay, enough talk, and now to my question. By all accounts AntiX shines on older hardware, and I've experienced this myself. What I want to know is if there's any real benefit of using such a slim distribution on newer hardware versus Ubuntu? What, if any, feature/functionality would I be giving up? Would the improved performance be noticeable, or would the faster hardware make it completely irrelevant?
rokytnji
I've blown away my Ubuntu installs for 64bit AntiX 13.1.

But as always. Personal preference comes into play so
like recommending what kind of girl or man you should
date is up to you.

I guess the only thing kinda lacking is all the
personal Ubuntu PPA roaming the net. I prefer
straight Debian myself though. I miss no functionality
myself converting media, but I am no gamer either.
rust collector
well, this is mine, not quite new, but kinda modern, 4 core intel core i5, 4 gigs of ram...
It works... and it is pretty quick.