Posts: 73
zpimp
Joined: 20 Jan 2014
#1
again i require your help
i want to make a frugal install on the second partition
antix is installed on /sda1

all files in iso are extracted to second partition / sda3 / frugal / * (yes sd3 is my second partition)
made a file /e.t.c./grub.d/11_frugal , chmod 755 then sudo update-grub

file contents:
menuentry"boot frugal" {
set root=(hd0,1)
linux / frugal / vmlinuz ro quiet splash
initrd / frugal / initrd.img
}


i remember doing frugal install before, but it was somehow different
did antix13 used grub legacy?
can you give me some pointers, where to look?

edit:
after reading some more i figured i should put the files in a directory called antiX cause it seemed to search them there
changed menu entry accordingly :
menuentry" boot frugal" {
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 'cff4df6f-0243-4caa-b5aa-05a52268124f'
linux /antiX/vmlinuz ro quiet splash
initrd /antiX/initrd.gz
}

it boots first part, then it says

scan usb,cd devices, look for boot files antiXlinuxfs
retry for 10 seconds
fatal error
no usb, cd devices found

i understand it looks for files on cd,usb, but i dont have any idea how to change this __{{emoticon}}__
Posts: 4
jono
Joined: 06 Jun 2012
#2
For the parameters on the kernel-line please look here:


========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://antix.mepis.org/index.php?title=Frugal_install"
linktext was:"http://antix.mepis.org/index.php?title=Frugal_install"
====================================
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#3
My frugal entry looks like this.

menuentry 'antiX-xorg-sid-386' --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'osprober- gnulinux-/Remaster/work/antiX-16-a1-xorg-sid-386-sid-core/iso/antiX/vmlinuz--2c53bf5a-8caa-4534-beb1-f5aa04050918' {
insmod part_msdos
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos1'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos1 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos1 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos1 2c53bf5a-8caa-4534-beb1-f5aa04050918
else
search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 2c53bf5a-8caa-4534-beb1-f5aa04050918
fi
linux /Remaster/work/antiX-16-a1-xorg-sid-386-sid-core/iso/antiX/vmlinuz bdev=sda3 bdir=Remaster/work/antiX-16-a1-xorg-sid-386-sid-core/iso/antiX quiet splash=v nosysv=LX vga=795
initrd /Remaster/work/antiX-16-a1-xorg-sid-386-sid-core/iso/antiX/initrd.gz
}

So try adding bdev=sda3 bdir=antiX to the linux line

BTW - My entry is for grub2. If you are using grub-legacy, then see the post above mine
Posts: 73
zpimp
Joined: 20 Jan 2014
#4
i am using grub2
also posted to linuxforums, and i have found this to be working, by myself __{{emoticon}}__

========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/showthread.php?p=5520279"
linktext was:"http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions ... ?p=5520279"
====================================


menuentry"---------- boot frugal" {
linux (hd0,3)/antiX/vmlinuz bootdev=sda3 quiet splash=v disable_srv=LX
initrd (hd0,3)/antiX/initrd.gz
}

i was just wondering if i could use bootdir, bootdev, bdir, bdev but couldnt find these switches anywhere on grub docs
are these interchangeable? i assume they are specific to antix,going to try it now
thank you very much for your help
anticapitalista
Posts: 5,955
Site Admin
Joined: 11 Sep 2007
#5

========= SCRAPER REMOVED AN EMBEDDED LINK HERE ===========
url was:"http://download.tuxfamily.org/antix/docs-antiX-15/FAQ/boot-params.html"
linktext was:"http://download.tuxfamily.org/antix/doc ... arams.html"
====================================
Posts: 73
zpimp
Joined: 20 Jan 2014
#6
i see antix 15 has an option to install frugal, but
is it hard to manually install grub to newly formatted hdd
then put the menuentry myself?
it seems i cant get grub to install to a hdd without an os